Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Strange Error Message on Startup

  1. Question Strange Error Message on Startup

    I recently used the Flight Planner function for the first time, and saved the plan. I did not see anything amiss.
    Next time, I tried to save a different plan with a different name (of course), but it would not let me. Paid no attention.

    Now, whenever I boot up P3D v. 4.5, I get this message: "Error loading GPS engine. The flight plan will not be used." Click OK, and the sim proceeds to load as usual. Trouble is, the error message halts the boot-up until you click OK. Annoying. What is this message, and how can I get rid of it? Is there a corrupted flight plan? If so, where in the P3d Folder are the flight plans saved?

    Thanks for your thoughts,

    Mac6737

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Burbank CA USA
    Posts
    2,432

    Default

    In your Documents folder - Prepar3d V4 Files .

    Vic
    P3D Rig
    I7 7700K @ 5.0ghz Asus Maximus X270 16G G.Skill 3600 15-15-15-18 2T EVGARTX2080ti Corsair 1000W PSU 1TB Samsung SSD for P3D - 2 - 256G OCZ Vector SSD - HAF X - Corsiar H100i V2 Liquid Cooler W10 64 Pro.

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vgbaron View Post
    In your Documents folder - Prepar3d V4 Files .

    Vic
    Vic,

    I don't think so. That folder contains scenarios (and vastly more of them than appear in my "Load" menu when P3D is actually running). It does not seem to include the "Flight Plans" you can save under the "Flight Plan" tab.

    Mac6737

  4. Default

    There's a "Browse" button on the flight plan save dialog, try creating/saving another flight plan and then look near the bottom, it should show you the path it wants to save the file to. If it's not Documents\Prepar3D v4 Files use the browse button to locate that folder. The flight planner saves a .pln file and that file is referenced in the saved flight file (.fsxml) so if the flight can't find the plan you get the error you posted.

    It must be that your default flight is missing it's .pln somehow and that's why you're getting the error on every startup. You could save another flight (preferably without an associated .pln) and setting it as default to eliminate the error warning.

    Jim

  5. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Robinson View Post

    It must be that your default flight is missing it's .pln somehow and that's why you're getting the error on every startup. You could save another flight (preferably without an associated .pln) and setting it as default to eliminate the error warning.

    Jim
    That seemed to work.

    Thanks,

    Mac6737

Similar Threads

  1. Strange Error Message
    By aharon in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2013, 10:48 AM
  2. Strange Error Message on Forums
    By b3burner in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-18-2011, 02:37 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2004, 04:05 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2003, 07:12 PM
  5. Strange Error Message
    By Raptor40 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 12:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •