Is it just me getting old?

plainsman

I am a veteran of FS2000, FS2002, FS2004, and FSX. I have many files in the library. All that said, I can't get X-plane to do almost anything I want to do. All my favorite airports lack buildings or don't exist. The autopilots make me pull my hair out (what is left)! I can't get the default King Air to do much of anything. The 737-800 bounces around and won't hold altitude? My consternation level is becoming ridiculous! I have a new computer I bought last fall, I7-9700, 2070 video and 32 gig of ram and an m.2 card. I ought to be enjoying simulation, but all I get is frustration!

I would go back to FSX, but I can't get it to activate!

I7-9700K, RTX-2070, Asus Strix Z-390-H MB, 32gb G Skill 3000 CL15, Corsair Obsidian 750D case, WD Black 1tb M.2, Crucial CT500MX SSD, Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium PSU

That system should run XP11 OK as long as you keep your Sliders in the High or below 4xAA, no Scenery shadows and Objects Medium or less, make sure you get Ver 1150b6 or if you have 1141 better yet do not upgrade. The airports are not real busy but most have some buildings as long as you did not add any scenery that affects your load priority you should be OK. Make sure you have No wind, your controllers are calibrated.

You can try to rename your scenery_packs.ini to something like scenery_packs.ini.old and let XP rebuild it and see if your airports improve.

For the inflight you have to get used to the sensitivity and there are ways you can adjust the curve for that also but take it one step at the time.

What airport are you looking at?

For the AP they changed the way you activate and use it, you have to read the manufacture User's manual and follow the procedure even when using the C172.

It's a somewhat of a steep learning curve from MSFSX and the sensitivity is overdone even when you adjust everything, keep playing with it.