Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FSX Steam Edition - monitor problem

  1. Default FSX Steam Edition - monitor problem

    Good afternoon guys, I was hoping you could help me with something on my FSX Steam Edition.
    I launch the game and start choosing the aircraft, weather and airport, but when I try to click on START FLIGHT my monitor just shuts down. Just the monitor, not the PC. When I try to reset the monitor (turning it on again), it doesn't work and I have to manually restart the PC.
    I tried to lower the settings to minimum, tried to change something on the settings of the monitor itself, and even checked if my PC supported FSX on Can You Run It? and it has the minimum requirements.

    Help please ������
    Last edited by drobson; 04-29-2020 at 04:29 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,777

    Default

    Is this a laptop or desktop computer? Look through your FSX settings and uncheck the box for "Pause on Task".
    Last edited by mrzippy; 04-23-2020 at 05:28 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  3. Default

    It is a desktop.
    I will try that.

    Thanks

  4. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by camestrike View Post
    I launch the game and start choosing the aircraft, weather and airport, but when I try to click on START FLIGHT my monitor just shuts down. Just the monitor, not the PC. When I try to reset the monitor (turning it on again), it doesn't work and I have to manually restart the PC.
    This may be a good starting point:
    https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001496.htm

    It is worth remembering that graphics-intensive activities like Flight Simulator probably work your screen harder than anything else you have, so if things are delicate that will be the time it shows.

    Otherwise, maybe some Immodium would help?

    John
    Last edited by drobson; 04-29-2020 at 04:30 PM.

  5. Default

    I guess it's the computer, as the monitor light turns orange and green and orange again. Displaying the sign Energy Management. I had to restart the computer again. What I don't understand is why does the Can You Run It? sais that my Pc can run the game with no problems.

    Nice one with Immodium

  6. Default

    Not good, I tried to uncheck the Pause on Task but still, the monitor turns off as soon as I click on FLY NOW..

    What bothers me is that I ran the specs through Can You Run It and ir said that my computer passed the minimum requirements.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,777

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by camestrike View Post

    Nice one with Immodium
    I just got the Imodium remark after closely re-reading your first post! I think a moderator will soon fix it!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    No flight Sim installed until I get a new computer.

  8. Default

    Make sure that if in the videocard menu the screen resolution is set to, for example,
    1024x768 - 32bit
    that the resolution in fsx settings menu is also set to the same. So to:
    1024x768 - 32bit
    and NOT to:
    1024x768 - -->16bit<<---

    ---
    Also, in windows accessibility options, make sure 'text size' (or whatever it's called) is set to 'normal' 100% Dpi.
    (And not to 125% Dpi for example.)
    Last edited by il88pp; 04-29-2020 at 11:07 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    3,133

    Default

    Just curious................Do you have your monitor connected via an HDMI cable? I had a similar thing happen to me and that is what it turned out to be.

    Always something to challenge you!

    Rick

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by camestrike View Post
    when I try to click on START FLIGHT my monitor just shuts down. Just the monitor, not the PC. When I try to reset the monitor (turning it on again), it doesn't work and I have to manually restart the PC.
    I'm not sure if you've ever managed to run FSX or if you have just installed it, although it sounds like the latter. Seems possible it's is trying to run an unsupported graphics mode and your monitor is complaining. Try pressing ALT+ENTER to switch to windowed mode, that should take care of it if that's the problem. If you can get it to run in windowed mode them you can try to figure out why it won't run full-screen.
    MarkH


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2019, 08:07 AM
  2. FSX Steam Edition problem with aircraft
    By gelo3iverson in forum FSX
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-20-2016, 09:13 AM
  3. FSX Steam Edition - menu bar problem
    By runway 14 left in forum FSX
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-20-2016, 08:27 AM
  4. Problem with FSX: Steam Edition
    By LeoBongiovani in forum FSX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2015, 11:00 AM
  5. FSX Steam Edition GSX problem!!!!
    By Scruflyer380 in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2015, 07:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •