Radio Fundamentals

pilotlc77

In all aircraft, hit C 2 or N 2, this will select Comm 2 and Nav 2. Pressing CC will highlight the .00 part of the freq. Hitting NN will highlight the .00 part of Nav. CC2, NN2 will highlight the .00 parts of the Comm 2 and Nav 2. You can then adjust the numbers using the - and + keys.

Hi,

Super Newbie here, and don't like making new threads - this one looked pretty close, so..

About Nav2-- what is it for and how do you use it? I have been learning the interaction between nav radios and the HSI, as well as the autopilot. In *every case, the docs say HSI and autopilot are kind of "wired" to Nav1. Does Nav2 have a special purpose?

I noticed this thread refers to "selecting Nav2." Could any give me an example of when you might want to do that?

Sorry if this question is laughable - but seriously, the docs I have seen so far say "Nav1 does all this neat stuff and - oh, yeah, over there is Nav2, aint it cute!>"

Thanks in advance ... and I am not easily offended so, go ahead and boo me out if this is not an appropriate question for this gathering.

There are some addon gauges that folks have designed that use the NAV2 radio. I have played around in the past and while taxiing I have Nav1 tuned to Ground Control and Nav2 tune to Tower freq.

RFN Gauge that is used for Carrier Operations require a Nav2 radio.

Edited by mrzippy

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️

I noticed this thread refers to "selecting Nav2." Could any give me an example of when you might want to do that?