Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Panel Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Default Panel Question

    This question has probably been asked many times but here goes again. I dl'd a 787-9 Dreamliner 789v6uancx.zip from Avsim. It has 2-d Cockpit Panel view only. Is there a way to put a Virtual Cockpit in it? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,689

    Default

    I think the first priority would be it has to be a native FSX model and not a ported-over FS2004 model.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    I think the first priority would be it has to be a native FSX model and not a ported-over FS2004 model.
    Huh? Lost me on that one Mr Z

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,074

    Default

    He's saying that FS2004 aircraft don't have replaceable virtual cockpits, but (many? most?) native FSX models do have them. In FS2004 they're hard coded into the model, as I understand it.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,689

    Default

    @Larry...You Da Man!

    @Prostock

    Here is an easy to understand explanation of how to do it (maybe). It uses an A321 as the example.

    HOW TO INSTALL

    For this tutorial we will put the default A321 VC into a Project Airbus A318...


    1. Move your Airbus A321 and Project Airbus A318 file to your desktop (makes the intallation much quicker)

    2. Go into the Airbus_A321/model file and copy the Airbus_A321_Interior mdl. and paste it in your A318/model file.

    3. Open your A318 model.cfg and under the line showing normal=... put interior=Airbus_A321_Interior.

    4. Go into your A321/Texture file and copy every dds. texture in it. Not the thumbnail!

    5. Paste those dds. textures into the texture file of your choice in the A318.

    6. Open the aircraft.cfg in the A318, scroll down to [Views] and change the first two numbers after eyepoint=...

    from 37 to 48 otherwise you will be looking from behind the chair and not in it.

    That should be it! Enjoy!

    For other aircraft, follow the same steps but you might have to adjust the eyepoint so it looks right.


    COPYRIGHT LAWS

    I don't care if you re-publish this document as long as you give full credit to me. THE END


    Instructions created by Cooper Honeyman
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  6. #6

    Default

    Thank you Larry & Mr Zippy for clarification. I will definitely give it a try.

  7. #7

    Default

    Don’t even start trying. The model from the DL you mention is FS9.



    Wim
    Last edited by f16jockey_2; 03-26-2020 at 04:54 PM. Reason: Added pic

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,689

    Default

    +1 Wim! I did give it a try! No Go!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    I did give it a try!
    Now that surprises me, coming from you!
    The above Notepad check on the model is the 1st step in every VC merge tutorial I've ever read (apart from the one you just wrote down in this thread ).

    Use your checklists, Charlie...

    Wim

  10. #10

    Default

    You guys are Great! What more can I say. Thanks for the info

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2014, 05:50 PM
  2. A Panel Is A Panel Is A Panel
    By turbofire in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 09:46 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2002, 09:39 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-19-2002, 02:58 PM
  5. Help on another panel using (panel=)
    By danielellis in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2002, 04:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •