Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do I assign a key to an analog input range?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    I live on venus where we cook eggs on our heads.
    Posts
    98

    Default How do I assign a key to an analog input range?

    Hi,

    I have a throttle quadrant that I sort of hacked up myself (see here). Is there a way to set up a reverse thrust range by assigning it a keypress below a certain range (it has a detent below "idle", but after calibration as a joystick, It seems that I could only have idle set to below the detent)? I would use FSUIPC, but free doesn't include the right settings and I don't need all the extras of full.

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheAwesomeCobra View Post
    Hi,

    I have a throttle quadrant that I sort of hacked up myself (see here). Is there a way to set up a reverse thrust range by assigning it a keypress below a certain range (it has a detent below "idle", but after calibration as a joystick, It seems that I could only have idle set to below the detent)? I would use FSUIPC, but free doesn't include the right settings and I don't need all the extras of full.
    Assign the F2 button (the default reverse command).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    I live on venus where we cook eggs on our heads.
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mallcott View Post
    Assign the F2 button (the default reverse command).
    I know that that's the button, but my problem is that I can't assign F2 specifically to the throttle reverser range (or any other button). I'm trying to set up a sort of "banded mode" where I can assign the idle position at the detent and a button press for the range below that.

    I might as well include a better description of the throttle if that helps anyone. It uses a saitek throttle quadrant, but the version that doesn't have its own controller board (it would go through a saitek yoke), so I wired its (throttle's) pots to the 'board of an old joystick.

    This means that calibration through windows is like a joystick - it has me move an axis over its entire range, then leave it at center, then do the next axis. I noticed that if I leave the sticks at the detent when it asks me to "center" the axis, then the 50% mark is then set at the detent - upper 50% requires more movement, while lower is smaller and much more sensitive.

    So I then could set the upper 50% to "normal throttle" and the lower band to a button. But, I can't find a program that has this banded mode. I think the x52 software has something like this.

    Also, I'm using two separate axes for throttle, if that matters.

    Did any of that make sense?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheAwesomeCobra View Post
    I know that that's the button, but my problem is that I can't assign F2 specifically to the throttle reverser range (or any other button). I'm trying to set up a sort of "banded mode" where I can assign the idle position at the detent and a button press for the range below that.

    I might as well include a better description of the throttle if that helps anyone. It uses a saitek throttle quadrant, but the version that doesn't have its own controller board (it would go through a saitek yoke), so I wired its (throttle's) pots to the 'board of an old joystick.

    This means that calibration through windows is like a joystick - it has me move an axis over its entire range, then leave it at center, then do the next axis. I noticed that if I leave the sticks at the detent when it asks me to "center" the axis, then the 50% mark is then set at the detent - upper 50% requires more movement, while lower is smaller and much more sensitive.

    So I then could set the upper 50% to "normal throttle" and the lower band to a button. But, I can't find a program that has this banded mode. I think the x52 software has something like this.

    Also, I'm using two separate axes for throttle, if that matters.

    Did any of that make sense?
    No, and neither does the absence of FSUIPC.
    Sort out a single axis for the throttle, unless you mean a duak-throttle and a paid-for FSUIPC... Not optional.!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,851

    Default

    I think the full version of FSUIPC will enable you to program the throttle(s) as you require, but you're better off asking this in the Cockpit Builders forum - click the Forum button at the top of this page, scroll down to the Technical Forums and Cockpit Builders is the third one down.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Location
    I live on venus where we cook eggs on our heads.
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    I think the full version of FSUIPC will enable you to program the throttle(s) as you require, but you're better off asking this in the Cockpit Builders forum - click the Forum button at the top of this page, scroll down to the Technical Forums and Cockpit Builders is the third one down.
    Oh, forgot about that. Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Fire Retardant Drop - How to Assign a key?
    By warmanbrent in forum FSX
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-24-2019, 01:43 AM
  2. P 51 Shadow Spear - Assign Key for NOS - Usage
    By CHARGER in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 08:01 PM
  3. Key Switch & Rotary Encoder input - Your comments please?
    By Didactech in forum Cockpit Builders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-01-2013, 06:33 AM
  4. ALL PRODUCTS: LOST KEY / GETTING A NEW KEY / REACTIVATING YOUR KEY
    By DreamFleet1 in forum FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions - DreamFleet General Aviation & 737-400 Products
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2003, 01:00 PM
  5. DF-737 Assign key to TO-GA?
    By atr_42_500 in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2003, 10:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •