Dead in the water

svpst

I have been doing various versions of Flight sim since 1998 and it seems I get dumber every year. Anyway, I was using FSX-SE in January, with the program on my E drive, all my scenery (over 100 g_) is on on the G drive and 120g of planes are on my D drive. But I had Steam on my c drive. On January 23, my Samsung 500g 850 EVO SSD died, kaput. (after only 2 years) I have a new 550 SSD but I am now unable to use FSX at all. As a result, I have a number of questions for which I seek your wise advice. Since the new FSX is on the horizon, I'm thinking maybe to wait for it, but I'm 76 years old and waiting might be a lost cause. When I go to Steam, they say I need to install FSX-SE even though its in my library. My question has become, can I just go ahead and install it (FSX_SE)on my C drive or will that kerflatch my whole system?

When I click on FSX.exe on my current "D" drive. the message I get is "Flight Simulator was unable to load some program files and will now exit. Please reinstall Flight Simulator to restore or repair the program installation." I recall folks in here talking about registry issues and such unless you do a complete removal of the old. Can someone help me out? What think you. My golf pro said "take two weeks off and then quit." That may be the best advice.

I shall be forever grateful for any helpful advice.

Brian W.

I5-8400, EVGA GTX 1070.ti, 16 gigs ram, 500g Samsung SSD, 1.5 T HDD, 1 T HDD, Win 10, 64bit.

Well I went on Steam to do that very thing but I was unable to locate the verification of files. What heading is it under? I've used it several times in the past but cannot seem to locate it now.

Brian W.

I5-8400, EVGA GTX 1070.ti, 16 gigs ram, 500g Samsung SSD, 1.5 T HDD, 1 T HDD, Win 10, 64bit.

Sorry, I was on my little Android pad last night.

To verify your game files please do the following:

1. Load the Steam platform and log into your account

2. Click the Library tab in the menu at the top of the screen