Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: FS2004 Cessna 172: Throttle Friction Nut?

  1. Question FS2004 Cessna 172: Throttle Friction Nut?

    I have only been using FS2004 On Windows 10 for a week so please excuse what may be a newbie dumb question: I am using a gamepad
    and have set the LH joystick to Elevator, Aileron (X,Y axis). The RH one is set to Throttle axis (Z Rotation); and this
    works BUT, whenever I release it, the throttle sticks at 1500rpm or thereabouts (in the default Cessna 172).
    My question is: is there something like a Throttle Friction Nut, as in the Piper Cherokee which I used to fly, to lock
    the throttle setting when the control is released?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    7,023

    Default

    In many real C-172s there is such a nut, but I've never come across a control for it in the sim. Chances are you either have something in that gamepad's drivers or in the device itself. Perhaps there's a spring to center it?

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,816

    Default

    Arch, you'd be much better off with a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick:
    https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-3D-Pr.../dp/B00009OY9U
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  4. Default

    Many thanks for the prompt replies. I only bought the gamepad recently just to try all this out, but I will heed your advice and purchase the Logitech as soon as I can. Thanks again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,603

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Arch, you'd be much better off with a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro joystick:
    https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-3D-Pr.../dp/B00009OY9U
    I'll drink to that! Oh, hell! I'll drink to the sun rising this morning!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-13-2012, 12:44 PM
  2. ATC handoff loop nut house.
    By bruckey1 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-29-2005, 11:30 AM
  3. How's ground friction in 2004?
    By Aaron77 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-29-2003, 05:35 PM
  4. Ground Roll Friction FS2k2Pro
    By Hammer51 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2003, 12:41 AM
  5. Tough Nut To Crack
    By VF2_Rolf in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-12-2003, 02:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •