Opinions about web servers

goodpaster

We have been with our current server for three years now, however, due to issues (blocked access, slowdowns, etc), we are considering transferring to a new host when our contract comes due again.

Does anyone have experience with running phpvms 5.5.2 on A2 or Godaddy servers? I prefer to keep the server in North America.

Thank you,

-Ken

Thank you, but I am a pilot not an IT professional. AWS may be the best solution but it complicated setup and pricing plans make it too difficult. I am also not a fan of traffic based pricing model as I don't want blip of high traffic to create a large monthly bill. I am more insterested in hosts that provide free and easy transfer service.

I found my host through the website forum called https://webhostingtalk.com

Go there, create a thread and ask, and/or do your research on hosts. Since you don't know anything about servers, etc, you will want a manged VPS for the phpvms software. When it's managed then the host can configure everything for you.

I'd stay away from GoDaddy, Bluehost or Hostgator. Many gravitate towards those for some reason and I don't know why, but I've heard a lot of negative crap with them.

Amazon AWS is a bit complicated to setup. I use the AWS S3 service myself on my board to offload attachments for server segregation and to improve page load times. But there is a lot to learn about it and I still don't know everything.

Edit-

Come to think of it, you could probably go with a shared account rather than a VPS and install the phpvms that way. Looks like you just need to upload the files via FTP and create a MySQL database. Modify the config file to reflect the database and you're good to go. I've never used this software, but they have tutorials it looks like.