Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Approach speed control

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hjwalter View Post
    The VFR approach altitude is an almost flat 500 ft AGL already from a long distance in my efforts to reduce the plane's speed before touchdown.
    The speed is then between 70 and 80 knots, nose high.
    The distance from the runway touchdown point can be as much as 6Nm.
    Power setting: Idle.
    Configurations: Full flaps and gear down.

    I've initially made a change in the plane's aircraft.cfg file (flap drag entry from 1.0 ----> 2.6). The "Spoilers Available= FALSE ----> TRUE" edit in it's AIR file, seems to help as well.
    Although 80 is a bit slow, it shouldn't descend in a nose high attitude. Just tried a payware Mooney with a very good FDE and at 80kts the nose should be still be a few degrees below the horizon with the ROD close to 1000ft/min. At 100kts the ROD increases to 1500ft/min

    That's without spoilers. (At 80kts spoiler shouldn't have any noticeable effect anyway)

    As mentioned by others, are you sure that power is at idle and the prop control full forward?
    What's the RPM and MP at idle?

    With the greatly increased flap drag she should drop like a stone. Not sure if you don't have altered anything else unintentionally.
    Since the spoilers should not have any significant effect at such low speeds I strongly suggest to use the original aircraft.cfg for further tests.

    Concerning the idle problem; suggest to try the default 172 for comparison.

    @napamule2 the Mooney is practically a Cessna but with 2 engines???
    Last edited by pzl 104; 01-21-2020 at 04:59 PM.

  2. #22

    Default

    C172: GWt: 2550.......................Mooney: 3662
    " 4 Pass/400 Lbs..................." 4 Pass/700 Lbs
    " HP: 180............................." HP: 270
    " Spd: 115 (163).................." Spd: 180 (195)
    " Flaps: 4 Pos........................" Flaps: 3 Pos
    0, 12, 25,38...............................0, 8, 33

    The HP of engine(s) is the significant difference. But, like most 'default' aircraft in Sim, the cfg and air values (ie: missing or incorrectly set by MS) makes a difference in Sim, compared to the performance of the specific aircraft in 'real' life.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    Last edited by napamule2; 01-21-2020 at 05:43 PM.
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  3. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hjwalter View Post
    I've initially made a change in the plane's aircraft.cfg file (flap drag entry from 1.0 ----> 2.6).
    If this didn't have any effect, can you confirm that the flaps are actually extending? The nose high attitude during the approach and the too little drag are an indication that they are still retracted.

  4. #24

    Default

    pzl 104

    Yes, the flaps are fully extended, both visibly and according to the panel gauge. Not only that but the gear is down and the engine RPM is at idle according to it's gauge and audible sound.

    There's now quite obviously something very wrong with my default Mooney Bravo, so in the meantime I've downloaded a few complete third party versions from the library here and will test those to see if they have the same problem, something which I don't really expect.

    I have some other flyables with the same problem but not half as bad as that of my default Mooney.

    Anyway Guys, thanks for all your reactions and if I find out what caused my problem, I will certainly report back in this thread.

    Hans

  5. #25

    Default

    After a heck of a lot of further testing and trying I finally admitted defeat and downloaded what seemed to be a Mooney Bravo repaint, which also included it's model, aircraft.cfg and AIR files. A lot of cutting and pasting followed, especially in the aircraft.cfg file and eventually I was able to fly a "normal" Mooney Bravo again, including making "normal" approaches in it.

    The only thing I can afterwards think of, of what was wrong with my problematic Mooney, is/was a corrupted AIR file. How, why and when this could have happened I have no idea but I will now try to use the same procedure for the other aircraft, which have more or less, the same approach speed problems.

    Regards

    Hans

  6. Default

    I did get the very high nose up attitude as well when I tried with the Mooney.
    Getting it down and slow from altitude wasn't a problem but around 80 knots the nose did come up very high and it was impossible to see the runway on final.

    If you think that a file could be corrupted then you can find the originals on CD1 in msgame1.cab.
    I compared checksums for the installed files and the files on the CD and they were identical.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Boca Raton, Florida, USA.
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Hi,

    pls tell me the ZIP file name.

    I will fix it for you.

    Sincerely

    G. Kirschstein

    email [email protected]

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,756

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Interesting that you mentioned the default Mooney. In my Sim, the default Mooney has spoilers.
    Upon first reading, I said "huh?" Spoilers on a Mooney? I wondered what Charlie might be smoking these days? After looking at my default Mooney, sure enough they have Speed brakes which at first I thought might be a little hokey with whoever did the default design work on the Mooney Bravo. I did a Google search on Mooney Bravo speed brake and sure enough they do have them in RW aircraft. Here is a video I found on it:

    https://video.search.yahoo.com/yhs/s...b&action=click

    Sorry, Charlie, I truly thought you finally "lost it!"

    Learn something every day!

    Rick

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downwind66 View Post



    Sorry, Charlie, I truly thought you finally "lost it!"

    Learn something every day!

    Rick
    Only things lost, so far, are hair follicles!
    Last edited by mrzippy; 01-26-2020 at 09:38 AM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  10. #30

    Default

    Hey there Mr. Zippy,

    Where there's intelligence, hair cannot grow !!

    Hans

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 06:33 AM
  2. speed control - landing and taxing
    By gsedge in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2004, 01:48 AM
  3. Local Control / Ground Control
    By Flight407 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-20-2004, 03:47 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2002, 02:31 PM
  5. Can't control speed taxiing!
    By bob18 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2002, 07:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •