Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Fixing AI Traffic

  1. #1

    Default Fixing AI Traffic

    Hi all,

    So, I`ve been having all sorts of stutters in my FS 2004 setup.

    After searching on the topic a bit, and experimenting, I found out the stutters disappear when I
    disable my AI traffic...

    Can you guys please give me some tips on how to fix my AI traffic?

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Default

    What % have you set the AI traffic to with the slider, if it's high then lower it and see if that helps?

    Col.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    near Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Check all your AI-plane textures - don't use the 32bit ones (4 or 5mb). If you have some, convert them into DTX3 textures (1mb) instead (with DTXbmp). Using the mipped versions helps also a bit.

    Dedl

  4. Default

    It could be the textures. It may be all or just one aircraft in particular. To weed that possibility out, turn your AI back on and go to different airports with planes of different varieties at the gates and in the air as best as you can.

    You haven't turned any flyable planes into AI, have you?

    There is a tool of which I can't remember its name now that can change the textures from BMP to DXT. That should help with frame rates. If someone here knows the name of that tool post its name.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  5. #5

    Default

    Here is a link to the texture tool:

    https://www.mwgfx.co.uk/programs/dxtbmp.htm

    Always make a backup copy first in case it goes wrong.

    Col.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    near Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CRJ_simpilot View Post
    ...There is a tool of which I can't remember its name now that can change the textures from BMP to DXT. ...
    I wrote it in the post before... "(with DTXbmp)"

    Tanx for the link, Col.

    Dedl

  7. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dedl View Post
    I wrote it in the post before... "(with DTXbmp)"

    Tanx for the link, Col.

    Dedl
    I don't know why, but I didn't recall seeing your post after ColR's.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    near Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi CRJ_simpilot,
    I apologise. Perhaps it was, because the administrator had to unlock my answer first (because I am a "newbie" here?). You answered one hour after my post.
    Many regards
    Dedl
    Last edited by Dedl; 01-15-2020 at 06:46 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Hertford, Herts, UK
    Posts
    14,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I convert all AI textures to DXT3 with mipmaps. It seems to work for me. Depending how many AI textures you have installed, converting them with DXTBMP could be a long drawn out process.

    I recently found a post about this utility over at the AIG forum.

    Texture Manager version 2.1.03.

    http://stuff4fs.com/newpage.asp?Fold...ureManager.pdf

    I have found this tool very useful when converting a large amount of textures even from DDS to BMP for use in FS9.

    Also ensure that any DXT3 textures have an Alpha Channel as this can also cause stutters.

    There's another tool for searching texture files without Alpha Channels, called AlphaSearcher.

    You can find more information about it here.

    https://www.alpha-india.net/forums/i...=9633.msg92195
    Last edited by Smutley; 01-15-2020 at 12:41 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hanover Park, Illinois, USA.
    Posts
    4,123

    Default

    Aside form the above answers, if you are trying to use aircraft designed to be flown by you, not a great idea. Use AI specific aircraft which are designed to not take that massive hit vs. using a super detailed "flyable" plane.

    Good luck,

    Neil

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Fixing double ai?
    By Tyrion101 in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2012, 07:10 PM
  2. thank you for fixing my upload
    By Spad_oo7 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2007, 02:08 PM
  3. Fixing My Laptop's Sound Issues
    By The_Association in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2003, 01:02 AM
  4. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-23-2002, 04:50 PM
  5. Need help fixing two aircraft!
    By Blu in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-23-2002, 05:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •