Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: SDK1 and SDK2 in FSX for ADE?

  1. #1

    Question SDK1 and SDK2 in FSX for ADE?

    Hey guys,

    I wanted to start using ADE to edit airports in FSX but the program apparently needs some sort of SDK1 and SDK2 to run properly.
    I have the original FSX program on my system and SP1 and SP2 are also installed; I assume this is not the same thing as SDK1 and 2?

    Where can I download these SDK's and where should I install them in for them to be recognised by ADE? Can I install these SDK's in another folder on my desktop?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    2,147

    Default

    The SDK is on your installation disks.

    If memory serves me right, then there's one for FSX (early versions), and another (different) for Acceleration. Just install the one you need, and ADE will see it.

    Jorgen

  3. #3

    Default

    Hey Jorgen,

    How would I know which one I need? ADE can't find either of them on my system -- the path directory's are blank in the ADE program.

    And I'm a bit confused about what these SDK's are; I have both SP1 and SP2 for FSX installed, so are these SDK's a further service pack to the previous ones?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Weston super Mare, near the cave of Caer Bannog
    Posts
    134

    Default Help I received

    This helped me when I started with ADE. Courtesy of il88pp

    The Fsx-Sdk is a toolkit that installs in it's own folder.

    Read the Wiki for instructions. Read twice, then do correctly.
    https://www.fsdeveloper.com/wiki/ind...allation_(FSX)
    Win 7 HP 64 bit, Zalman Z9 Plus case
    Asus P8Z77-V LX Mobo ,i7 3770 3.4ghz CPU
    16GB DDR3 1600mhz ,GeForce GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC
    1TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD

  5. #5

    Default

    The link doesn't work. :/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  7. #7

    Default

    Thank you!

    Can someone please confirm that these SDK's are different than the SP1 and SP2? What is the difference?

    Will they alter or have any negative side on the aircraft and scenery add-ons that I have installed, since they are "settled" in the sim now?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,344

    Default

    Confirmed!
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    +1 Confirmed! The SDK is entirely separate to the SP's (Service Packs): SDK stands for Service Development Kit and the kit contains developer tools for creating scenery, aircraft, panels & gauges, special effects and so on. Installing the SDK doesn't alter anything in the sim - ADE will access the installed SDK so that it can compile your new (or amended) airport file.
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 10 Pro x64

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    6,969

    Default

    SDK stands for Service Development Kit
    Hmmm... I thought it was Software Development Kit. Oh, well.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Returning simmer: FSX:SE FSX SDK & ADE Question
    By drmweaver2 in forum Newcomer Services
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-20-2018, 03:20 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2014, 04:25 AM
  3. FSX and ADE settings
    By lenniel3 in forum FSX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2010, 02:48 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 10:03 PM
  5. FSX and ADE
    By wbunnell in forum FSX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 09:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •