Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Affinity tool question

  1. #1

    Default Affinity tool question

    I’ve recently been messing around with the affinity mask setting in FSX. I never found it successful until I realised I was using the wrong setting in the FSX cfg. After changing it I got much better performance. Maybe 10 FPS more and smoother all around performance. Quite significant I thought.

    FS9 though is the opposite. Since you can’t put the same job scheduler line in the cfg, I use the affinity tool available. I have an i3-4370. Dual core.
    Using the 2CPU setting, I get worse performance and more stutters.

    Interestingly the affinity tool program says I have 4 cores. So I’m guessing something is not correct with the 2 core setting?

  2. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSMR View Post
    Interestingly the affinity tool program says I have 4 cores. So I’m guessing something is not correct with the 2 core setting?
    That could be due to multiple threads from the CPU.


    Edit-

    Yep, you have four threads per core. https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...-3-80-ghz.html
    Last edited by CRJ_simpilot; 12-19-2019 at 12:02 AM.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Ah ok. Must be what the program listed as ‘cores’.
    Still, worse performance compared to the improvements with FSX.
    Different coding I guess.

  4. Default

    Can the affinity be permanently set in fsx.cfg? Or do you still need to use Task Manager in addition to the fsx.cfg setting?
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  5. #5

    Default

    The affinity can be permanently set in the FSX cfg. But FS9 doesn’t accept the Job Schedular line.
    Either use the affinity program or set it in task manager.

    I wonder if anyone else has had success with a dual core affinity setting in FS9.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,740

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSMR View Post
    Ah ok. Must be what the program listed as ‘cores’.
    Still, worse performance compared to the improvements with FSX.
    Different coding I guess.
    FSX SP1 and later have limited multi threading support, so can use more than one core. FS9 is a single thread program and only uses one core at a time.

    In general setting the affinity manually is really only needed for FSX if there are conflicts with the sim and other applications being run on the same core. It will use all cores on its own without any outside intervention.

  7. #7

    Default

    Ok thank you. Although I’ve seen definite improvement setting the correct value - for me - in FSX. most other tweaks I’m hard pressed to see much of a difference.

    I guess I’ll just leave it alone for FS9.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,740

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSMR View Post
    Ok thank you. Although I’ve seen definite improvement setting the correct value - for me - in FSX. most other tweaks I’m hard pressed to see much of a difference.

    I guess I’ll just leave it alone for FS9.
    Did you try leaving that tweak out entirely? Many jump straight into adding it, and recommending it, thinking that it's required.

  9. #9

    Default

    Probably. And can’t remember. I could delete it and see if better performance.
    I had it set for 84, but it was stuttery and low FPS. Changing it to 4 improved things quite a bit.
    But perhaps without it, I’d get the same pretty descent performance.
    I’ll test later and see what happens.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JSMR View Post
    Changing it to 4 improved things quite a bit.
    That locks FSX to a single core - core #3. if you don't have a quadcore machine it has no effect. 84 locks it to cores 2, 5 and 6.

    Cheers!

    Luke

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The MS tool: "Snipping Tool "
    By gerray in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-23-2014, 06:09 PM
  2. Affinity Question
    By Jayskits in forum FS2004
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2012, 07:34 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2012, 05:57 PM
  4. Affinity and Defrag
    By koolhand in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-10-2006, 05:38 AM
  5. Found the halftone tool & the Chrome tool
    By Bigshot in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2004, 03:49 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •