DIY GPS Using Raspberry Pi/Bodnar Board?

TheAwesomeCobra

Hi all,

How hard would it be to make a GPS (for FSX) out of a Raspberry Pi? Maybe even some buttons via a Leo Bodnar board? There are small touchscreens made for attaching directly to the various Pi models (I think it uses GPIO), possibly eliminating the need for physical buttons? My main worry would probably be software - I have very little knowledge in terms of how to interface with FSX. I could probably 3d print the case/frame.

any ideas are appreciated!

p.s. this page of a thread lightly touches on my idea, but like I said earlier, I'm barely understanding the talk about the coding/interfacing part: https://forums.simviation.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27826&p=1293170

Hi all,

How hard would it be to make a GPS (for FSX) out of a Raspberry Pi? Maybe even some buttons via a Leo Bodnar board? There are small touchscreens made for attaching directly to the various Pi models (I think it uses GPIO), possibly eliminating the need for physical buttons? My main worry would probably be software - I have very little knowledge in terms of how to interface with FSX. I could probably 3d print the case/frame.

any ideas are appreciated!

p.s. this page of a thread lightly touches on my idea, but like I said earlier, I'm barely understanding the talk about the coding/interfacing part: https://forums.simviation.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27826&p=1293170

Hi,

It depends on which gps unit you are looking to recreate and for which aircraft. I made a Garmin G1000 unit for my cockpit using an off the shelf touchscreen and a Bodnar card.

I chose a difficult aircraft in the Carenado Phenom 300, but if you just wish to recreate the standard fsx Garmin GPS500 this should be easier as Microsoft gave access to the control assignments.