Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Through the St Louis Arch!!

  1. #1

    Default Through the St Louis Arch!!

    OK! Let's be honest here. How many Real World and Sim Pilots have never flown over a high off the ground bridge or arch and not dreamed of going under/through it? My guess is not a one of us!

    RW when they really needed pilots for combat, we RW guys got away with a lot of "small" or "minor" violations that would have cost us our wings otherwise. But they really needed cannon fodder so we got yelled at a lot but did pull some crazy stunts!!

    Having said that, A: The Arch in St. Louis Missouri hadn't been built back in the 1960's. B: I don't think even any of us would have been dumb enough to fly through an arch in the middle of a city even way back then!

    So, since we didn't do it RW then and really shouldn't do it RW now, I'm going to shoot a high speed pass under the St. Louis Arch while simming. Forget about taking my RW license! I'm too damned old and messed up to still have one now anyway!

    Enjoy,

    Michael

    Downwind when I get the crazy idea!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A1 Downwind.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	477.5 KB 
ID:	213546

    Entering when I suddenly realize just how crazy this is!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A2 Enter.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	347.0 KB 
ID:	213547

    YES! It really happened, at least in the Sim world! I did fly through the St. Louis Arch!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	A3Exit.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	343.0 KB 
ID:	213548
    Last edited by Rupert; 11-22-2019 at 05:22 PM.
    i9-9900K CPU currently running 5gig + -, Aorus Z390 LGA 1151 MB, Kraken X61 280 mm water cooler, Corsair RM850X PS, Planteks full size tower, 64gig of DDR4 3200 RAM, EVGA 1080 GPU, 4TB "Black" HD, 1Tb SSD, joystick, rudder pedals, yoke, multi control panel, three monitors set up for panaramic views, Bose surround sound system, and a ton of powered usb ports.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dijon (Burgundy), France
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Great! That reminds me of the beginning of a French movie, Les aventuriers. Alain Delon, a pilot and named Manu Borelli, considers flying under the Arc de Triomphe in Paris. That fails because a flag was hanged there. And here goes the movie with another project made by Lino Ventura also failing!

    On the other hand, I think another RW pilot's fantasy is to fly much close to the ground. Very dangerous too. Watch power lines
    Gérard Guichard, Dijon, Burgundy, France. i5 Intel processor, 4 Go of Ram, Nvidia GeForce 920MX, DirectX 12.0, and FSX Gold Edition with SP1, SP2. My personal flightsim website is at http://flightlessons.6te.net

  3. #3

    Default

    Nice shots and good flying.... And yes I gave flown under the Arch and numerous bridges.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Holland
    Posts
    27,936

    Default

    HA! Great! I'll try it tomorrow

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Michigan - USA
    Posts
    2,526
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    The fun part of simming! Inverted through and under things are fun to do!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA.
    Posts
    16,335

    Default

    Nice job splitting the Arch Michael. I like to sim fly under bridges.
    Larry

  7. #7

    Default

    I have certainly done my share of virtually illegal flying over the years.
    Most objects seem to have massive bounding boxes lately. I often crash before I even get near the bridge. -- Bob

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flightsimg View Post
    Great! That reminds me of the beginning of a French movie, Les aventuriers. Alain Delon, a pilot and named Manu Borelli, considers flying under the Arc de Triomphe in Paris. That fails because a flag was hanged there. And here goes the movie with another project made by Lino Ventura also failing!

    On the other hand, I think another RW pilot's fantasy is to fly much close to the ground. Very dangerous too. Watch power lines
    Actually G'erard, just above the tree tops was our normal flying altitude real world with choppers in Vietnam. The CH-34, which was lucky to maintain 90 knots straight and level was a huge target. Even a CH-46 was lucky to maintain 135. So flying at treetop level meant there was a very short period of time for the enemy to shoot at you!!

    Helped keep me alive!!

    Michael

    BTW: There were almost no power lines to be an issue in Vietnam.
    Last edited by Rupert; 11-23-2019 at 02:06 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by azzaro View Post
    I have certainly done my share of virtually illegal flying over the years.
    Most objects seem to have massive bounding boxes lately. I often crash before I even get near the bridge. -- Bob
    I sim flew through the big old blimp hanger at the Moffett Air Facility near Alameda a couple of times and posted pictures here a few years ago. I'll have to do that again. You might want to try it as well.

    BTW: Speaking of blimp hangers, I was mostly stationed at the Santa Ana Marine Corps Air Facility between trips to Vietnam. The Air Facility had two blimp hangers as well.

    Being almost right by the freeway, those hangers were considered a huge and visible landmark on the automobile trips from LA to San Diego. The last time I was in the area both hangers had been torn down and replaced with boring office buildings. Though the empty field is still in the FSX scenery of the area. Come to think of it, I haven't checked to see if it shows in P3D or not.

    Sadly the Santa Ana facility was near the El Toro Marine Corps Air Station. Why sad? The El Toro guys liked to fly A-4s and F-4s through one of the hangers.

    That stunt got to be so bad we had to post a Notice To Airmen that as of such and such a date both hangers would have the doors closed on at least one end 24/7. The ventilation wasn't nearly as good with one set of doors closed but it sure was a lot quieter than having jet jockeys flying through!!!

    And yes, when I mentioned we got away with stuff back then because they needed us for cannon fodder, stunts like hanger fly-throughs is one of the things I had in mind.

    Michael
    Last edited by Rupert; 11-23-2019 at 02:21 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dijon (Burgundy), France
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rupert View Post
    There were almost no power lines to be an issue in Vietnam.
    Gérard Guichard, Dijon, Burgundy, France. i5 Intel processor, 4 Go of Ram, Nvidia GeForce 920MX, DirectX 12.0, and FSX Gold Edition with SP1, SP2. My personal flightsim website is at http://flightlessons.6te.net

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Scenery Object request: arch bridge
    By Chairborne in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-07-2009, 01:36 PM
  2. DF Piper Arch : problem with adding repaints
    By sanyok in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2002, 08:27 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-27-2002, 05:20 PM
  4. Flying through the Arch...
    By foges in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-2002, 09:50 PM
  5. The Tomcat's Arch Enemy..
    By jwckmiller in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-05-2002, 02:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •