Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Freeware Fun: Grumman Goose

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hoeilaart, Belgium
    Posts
    1,174

    Default Freeware Fun: Grumman Goose

    If I'm not mistaken, the Grumman Goose came as default with FSX (or was it FS9?), but the guys over at the old OZx site completely reworked it and it became a wonderful model of a wonderful aircraft, come, it can land on water and land, it's a warbird, a GA and passenger liner, what's not to like?
    I did a couple of paints for it, some seen below, and I recently installed it in P3DV4, where it works flawlessly, albeit without a wake (yet..). I've always loved seaplanes and amphibians, like the Catalina and the Goose, so I thought I'd share it again. Not sure if you can still download it anywhere, but I still have a copy if you want it and can't find it.
    Anyway, a few screenies:
    jk2134
    jk2209
    jk2193
    jk2189
    jk2166
    jk2154
    jk2140
    FS painter at the Hangar.
    you'll find all my repaints here.

  2. #2

    Default

    That's a lot of paints the Goose, all of them great!!!!!!!

  3. #3

    Default

    Great Shots Jankees!! I've never tried a "repaint." I have no idea how that works. Must you already have the plane in your hanger before you download a repaint?

    The reason I'm asking is I've not been able to renew my FSX license on this computer I recently built. I have no idea why. As I mentioned when I showed a screen shot of a submarine which our "Noble Airman" claims, the default aircraft options after P3D was "Updated" are damned "Slim Pickings!!"

    When I 1st bought P3D a couple of years ago there were several default aircraft included. But they were removed without any warning during the update. Is that Bait and Switch?

    And there's almost no freeware out there for P3D V4. P3D doesn't seem to be catching on anything like as quickly as all the Microsoft sims did! Unlike some (1) flyer on this site, I really don't need a submarine to fly in.

    Michael
    Last edited by Rupert; 11-22-2019 at 05:39 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dijon (Burgundy), France
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Fine! Such a series with some more, could nearly induce a certain Dutch aviator to test landing on water with appropriate planes
    Gérard Guichard, Dijon, Burgundy, France. i5 Intel processor, 4 Go of Ram, Nvidia GeForce 920MX, DirectX 12.0, and FSX Gold Edition with SP1, SP2. My personal flightsim website is at http://flightlessons.6te.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Holland
    Posts
    27,936

    Default

    I installed them all JK, all beauties!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Michigan - USA
    Posts
    2,526
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Very well done! Thanks for posting

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Albuquerque, NM, USA.
    Posts
    16,335

    Default

    Beautiful paints for the Goose.
    Larry

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Hoeilaart, Belgium
    Posts
    1,174

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rupert View Post
    Great Shots Jankees!! I've never tried a "repaint." I have no idea how that works. Must you already have the plane in your hanger before you download a repaint?

    The reason I'm asking is I've not been able to renew my FSX license on this computer I recently built. I have no idea why. As I mentioned when I showed a screen shot of a submarine which our "Noble Airman" claims, the default aircraft options after P3D was "Updated" are damned "Slim Pickings!!"

    When I 1st bought P3D a couple of years ago there were several default aircraft included. But they were removed without any warning during the update. Is that Bait and Switch?

    And there's almost no freeware out there for P3D V4. P3D doesn't seem to be catching on anything like as quickly as all the Microsoft sims did! Unlike some (1) flyer on this site, I really don't need a submarine to fly in.

    Michael
    Hi Michael,
    yes, for a repaint to work, you will need to have the model already in your sim. Just download any of my repaints and you will find a readme file explaining how to install it.
    Indeed, there is as yet little freeware specifically for P3D, but everything I have shown so far as Freeware Fun are FSX models that work fine for me in P3Dv4.5, so you can always try those.
    FS painter at the Hangar.
    you'll find all my repaints here.

  9. #9

    Default

    Still a favorite bird in my hangar. It flies well, lands nearly anywhere and who doesn't like playing with those retractable floats? -- Bob


Similar Threads

  1. Freeware fun: Grumman Duck
    By jankees in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-27-2019, 05:02 PM
  2. Fun Fun Fun
    By timest999 in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 06:09 PM
  3. Grumman Goose---what a fun bird
    By wallyboard in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 10:04 AM
  4. USA Roads + MAAM BT = FUN FUN FUN!!
    By progrmr in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 01:26 AM
  5. Fun, Fun, Fun!!
    By Kimber in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-01-2004, 05:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •