Disappointed to say the least!

As a Developer I find very disappointing that MS is Not providing the Alpha or Beta of their supposedly new Sim to developers who ask for it. They know it is hard, sometimes very hard, to set up for a new simulator if you are developing under the present available sims. But as always MS does strange things and hardly try to help others with their belief that helping possible competition in any way, repeat in any way, is a bad thing. That's usually the thinking pattern of "Elites".

Nobody, at least publicly, has access to the alphas. It sounds like they are still testing them internally to get them ready for people to use. From the X019 interviews they do seem quite intent on getting them out to people. Using a broken alpha release doesn't seem like it would help third party developers very much.

They have stated, in a video, that 60 developers have been approached so far.

You have to apply to become an Alpha tester. Being a developer does not automatically be accepted into the Alpha testing program. To think so is quite elitist!

Robin

Cape Town, South Africa

Well, that's that. The problem I see is that Not making available to all developers, well known and professional ones who make addons for pay, is not a good policy IF you really want for All to participate with their products. Anyway, we'll see what happens in the near or long future with their policy. Getting to know the ins and outs of software one works on top of i or with it is not an easy nor fast way. The Past of MS with other developers has no 5 star ending so to have Skepticism is not being elitist as Robin says from South Africa. Many developers live from their sales Robin. Good day.