Setting up 10 year old grandson

Trespatos

I am a very experienced pilot, 25 years Air Force, 20 years major airline. My 10 year old grandson wants to fly airplanes on his computer. This is something I don't do. He lives a 10 hour drive from me in a very remote part of New Mexico. Would like to buy him some flight simulation software to get him started. Also understand you can now stream flight simulation to your computer.

As part of getting him started I will also buy him a PC. Where they live his download speed is 22.6 mbps and upload 7.95 mbps according to Ookla.

So the question is where do I start, buying the computer and monitor is a done deal as his family doesn't have a desktop PC, just a laptop. Realizing he is only 10 and interests change would like to get him something to keep him interested but not spend a lot of money. If he continues to show aviation interest can always upgrade the flight simulation software/equipment. Plus he has three younger siblings.

Thanks so much for your help!!!

Check Six

Welcome to the wacky world of flight simulation! Before spending any money for a flight simulator, there are options in most of the Sims for a free demo version to try.

For FSX https://flyawaysimulation.com/downloads/files/1304/microsoft-flight-simulator-x-demo/

I think there is an X-Plane demo out there also. I do recommend an inexpensive joystick to make flying much easier. Probably under $50 through Amazon.

Still thinking about a new flightsim only computer!  ✈️

I would suggest Microsoft Flight Simulator X (FSX)

It includes many aircraft he can fly. From a motorised Ultralight (easy to start with) to a Boeing 737_800 or FA-18 fighter aircraft. (and Carriers you can do carrier landings on.) And everything in between. Cessna 172, Beech Baron 58, CRJ_700, Airbus-321, etc etc.