Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: My Estimate on HD space for CA, NV, & AZ for MSFS 2020

  1. Default My Estimate on HD space for CA, NV, & AZ for MSFS 2020

    The southern southwest U.S. is the region I fly in the most, so I thought it would be interesting to try and calculate how much HD space I’d need. Here are the results:

    MSFS 2020 = 2 PB = 2,000 TB

    197 million miles sq = World land

    163,696 miles sq = California
    110,567 miles sq = Nevada
    113,998 miles sq = Arizona

    CA + NV + AZ = 388,261 miles sq = Total
    World Land / Total = 507.4
    2,000 TB / 507.4 = 3.94 TB

    This is totally doable, even on a SSD because I believe this is worst case since Nevada & Arizona are sparsely populated and would take up less HD space. What do you all think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    6,919

    Default

    World Land / Total = 507.4
    What is the value of world land, (does it include oceans and islands which would be in the database too), and what are the units for 507.4?

    Having figured all that out, you're guessing that the 2 PB is the data you need for the whole world, and that it's roughly linear in storage per sq. mi. or whatever figure it is, which may not be the case.

    So maybe you have a roughly accurate figure and maybe there are factors that throw you a wild curve, making your calculations useless.

    So it's a semi-educated guess (IMHO).

    Of course they DO say that you can cache data to fly off-line, so...

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,708

    Default

    2 petabytes is the volume of data they are starting with before processing it with Azure AI. The actual amount of data used in the sim directly will be lower. Though we don't really know how much lower. I can also see areas with mountains, cities and the like taking up more space than farmland in the middle of Saskatchewan.

  4. Default

    507.4 represents a ratio (1:507.4) of CA, NV, & AZ land compared to the total world. So, 1/507.4 x 2,000 TB is approximately 4 TB. I was mistaken. 197 million sq miles is the entire world, not just the land. As you said, this is a very rough estimate, and the world is not linear which means different locations will not take up the same HD space.
    Last edited by simpilot55; 10-10-2019 at 09:06 PM.

  5. Default

    Yeah, they totally have petabyte hard drives now a days for around tree fiddy on NewEgg....
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.
    !M [email protected] B5A9 =G s5FCB *CFA9GHF5B8 5B8 { <5J9 [email protected] <9F9 HC H<9 @=6F5FM

  6. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by simpilot55 View Post
    507.4 represents a ratio (1:507.4) of CA, NV, & AZ land compared to the total world. So, 1/507.4 x 2,000 TB is approximately 4 TB. I was mistaken. 197 million sq miles is the entire world, not just the land. As you said, this is a very rough estimate, and the world is not linear which means different locations will not take up the same HD space.
    If it's 4 TB then that's doable. Pretty massive, but still doable. I have over 4 TB of HDD space in my desktop now. I'd have to buy a 4 TB drive just for this Sim.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.
    !M [email protected] B5A9 =G s5FCB *CFA9GHF5B8 5B8 { <5J9 [email protected] <9F9 HC H<9 @=6F5FM

  7. Default

    Well I'd say that Samsung had better up their game with bigger SSD's because ain't no way I'm going back to spinning platters.

  8. Default

    I use two 2TB platters myself but I made sure they were enterprise Hitachis. They are for spill over from my main 256 GB Crucial SSD. I may get a 512 GB SSD latter on.
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.
    !M [email protected] B5A9 =G s5FCB *CFA9GHF5B8 5B8 { <5J9 [email protected] <9F9 HC H<9 @=6F5FM

  9. #9

    Default

    You don't mention what 3rd party add-ons you are talking about. It's actually quite easy. Usually developers will state the size of their addons. For example, our simwestSOCAL is around 40GB. Our simwestARIZONA (not released), will be larger as it will be available in 60cm.

    Just add what size is for Arizona, Nevada and whatever and that should give you a good idea what size of HDD space you will need.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Clutch Cargo View Post
    You don't mention what 3rd party add-ons you are talking about. It's actually quite easy. Usually developers will state the size of their addons. For example, our simwestSOCAL is around 40GB. Our simwestARIZONA (not released), will be larger as it will be available in 60cm.

    Just add what size is for Arizona, Nevada and whatever and that should give you a good idea what size of HDD space you will need.
    They're talking about how much space will be needed to cache the enhanced scenery included in the sim, not add-ons. At the moment no one really knows for sure how space the scenery will take.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Prescott AZ to Casa Grande AZ
    By gizmosells in forum X-Plane Screen Shots And Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 08:03 AM
  2. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-26-2009, 06:28 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-18-2003, 03:29 AM
  4. My Journey Around the World Leg 14: Las Vegas, NV - Los Angeles, CA
    By Stonec0ld in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-17-2003, 04:17 AM
  5. Baron 58 Dusk flight: Bakersfield CA to Reno NV
    By Yarddart152 in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2002, 04:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •