Newbie building a PC for FLight Sim

deepakvrao

Hi Guys,

Complete newbie here, but used to love aero modelling and flying 3 decades ago. Now want to try Flight Sim.

Looking at the Ryzen 5 3600X and the Nvidia RTX 2060 Super, with 1 TB of SSD.

Intel equivalent seems much more expensive. Any suggestions? Both for the CPU as well as the GPU? Is it worth the extra for a 2070 Super?

From what I have read, Flight Sim software speeds depend more on processor than GPUs? Is that true?

That rig will work just fine. Before I upgraded I was using an AMD FX-8350, GTX-970 and 16 gigs of ram and it ran X-Plane just fine. My new rig is a Ryzen 7 2700x with a GTX-1070Ti and 32 gigs of ram and with that I can max the sim and have great FPS. You should be fine.

X-plane will use more GPU than Processor resources.

I find on my resource manager that X-plane will draw up to 60 percent usage during gpu use and the processor maybe 15. I am currently using the 1080 ti.

Dual graphics cards are not supported in X-plane so save your money.

It is also a very memory hungry program. I use 64gb.

Make sure you put in as big a powered supply as you can. I am using a 1500 watt.

If you can... don’t use wifi. Connect direct to your router. The difference is huge.

I am using 3 Alienware r5 systems and they are fantastic.

If you want I would suggest going to their site and checking the specs on their gaming systems.

Click on one and it gives you the options to modify your system. I found it helpful in deciding what to purchase for my other build.

Hope this helps.

That rig will work just fine. Before I upgraded I was using an AMD FX-8350, GTX-970 and 16 gigs of ram and it ran X-Plane just fine. My new rig is a Ryzen 7 2700x with a GTX-1070Ti and 32 gigs of ram and with that I can max the sim and have great FPS. You should be fine.

Thanks. Changed to Intel i59600K, and got a Gigabyte rtx 2070 super overclocked.

X-plane will use more GPU than Processor resources.