Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Just started getting oom crashes

Default Just started getting oom crashes

I have been flying FSX-SE for 9 months with no OUT OF MEMORY CRASHES. A couple weeks ago I stated getting Out Of Memory Crashes for the first time.

I've read tons of posts on this matter so I understand a 32 bit simulator only has 4 gigs of game memory. So I tried lowering all the sliders way down from what I had been using but it continues to happen.

I can't make a 60 mile flight without getting an OOM Crash. Also the longer the flight goes on my FPS gets lower and lower.

Also every time I verify game files on Steam there is always exactly 8034 files not verified and then it acquires the missing files.

Does anyone know why after 9 months with no OOM's it just started happening? I don't have any detailed scenery other than Orbx Global, North America, and Vector.

Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

Thanks in advance for any help with this problem.

2. Default

For me personally, I find Steam to be a steamy pile of crap and refuse to use it. I bought FSX Deluxe on eBay. And any game I want to use I try to get the DVD. Albeit, I play a lot of old games.

The issue with an OOM is usually with scenery. It will consume the RAM and then you get an OOM. In my signature below I have a link on OOMs from PMDG. Since you don't have a bunch of add-ons, I'm assuming what ever those files are that are being dumped into your Sim are the cause to an out of memory condition.

Can you see what those file are?
    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

By all means read CRJ's OOM explanation, it's good learning material.