How to increase rudder effectiveness?

PabloJM

As a GA pilot I loved to do forward slips. You know, roll to one side and add opposite rudder to lose altitude quickly. I find that in FSX airplanes this doesn't work; there simply isn't enough rudder authority.

I've tried some serious aerobatics with the Extra 300 but the rudder just isn't very powerful. It won't do knife-edge flight or even forward slips, which is absurd. Is it a shortcoming of FSX, or of the airplane.cfg files?

Bottom line: How can one (if at all) increase the rudder effectiveness on a FSX airplane?

Thanks to all you fellow airplane nuts.

Love,

PabloJM

Unfortunately, the lack of spinnable aircraft is more than just a problem with insufficient rudder authority. A friend (now deceased) managed to make a number of FSX/P3D aircraft spinnable and slippable (among other improvements), and told me that center of gravity, various yaw effects (in the .air and .cfg files) and several other parameters needed to be modified, each found by experiment/testing on each individual aircraft -- there was no one-size-fits-all solution. He spent from 50 to, in some cases, well over a hundred hours of experiments and testing on each aircraft he changed, and that's after spending the last 20 years or so learning about what makes a Microsoft FS-type aircraft tick. So many things that you change will affect many other things, as well.

He sure had more patience than I ever could. He was a real world pilot and flight instructor with more than 10,000 hours in a large variety of aircraft, and had a very analytical mind.

Edited by lnuss

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

As a GA pilot I loved to do forward slips. You know, roll to one side and add opposite rudder to lose altitude quickly. I find that in FSX airplanes this doesn't work; there simply isn't enough rudder authority.