Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: New to x-plane, most impressed! Where to start on optimizing settings?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    187

    Default New to x-plane, most impressed! Where to start on optimizing settings?

    After a long hiatus from flight simming I'm now back, and with a more powerful PC.

    I always used to play FSX on my old core2duo, it was never up to running the latest xplane.

    Just purchased xplane 11, along with TrueEarth South UK Demo and getting my feet wet.

    First impressions are very good, only thing that disappointed a little was the default scenery isn't great. The trueearth scenery does a nice job though, and the free demo even has my local Ikea in Southampton.

    I was looking at the settings menu and see some of them (particularly antialiasing) are set low by default.

    Are these initial settings based on what it detects my system can handle, or are they the same for every install?

    What is a good location/aircraft from which to test and benchmark performance? I used to use Rio, and a fast jet in FSX.

    What settings are my system likely able to handle? I have a single 28" monitor, an SSD, and 32Gb RAM (in addition to the specs in my signature)

    Was thinking about further investing in VR or multi-monitor, would my system be up to it?
    Iain
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
    8GB AMD RADEON RX 580

  2. Default

    Hi Iain.
    The default settings are what they consider to be good for most users, and it may not apply to you.
    Your system will have a very difficult time running XP11. Try most slides to the left to start with, the worst offenders are Objects, try None to Medium, AA none -2, Reflections None, Shadows None, and your Resolution, try around 1080P max.
    In addition many of the acft models are more demanding, start with the C172.
    There are / is a Benchmark that you can run but that will give you no real answers / help, just a reference to where you are vs. others.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nevada, USA, A great country!
    Posts
    158

    Default

    For the best information on x-plane, Go here. https://forums.x-plane.org/index.php...&_fromLogout=1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    187

    Default

    Thanks for the advice, one thing though

    "Your system will have a very difficult time running XP11."

    I was tearing it up around the alps in a phantom last night, with default settings, getting 60fps looked like. Pretty sure my system more than meets the recommended specs.
    Iain
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
    8GB AMD RADEON RX 580

  5. Default

    Hi Iain.
    That is great, I would like to know your settings. I have a system that is easily 2x as powerful as you have and I struggle to get around 25FPS in 4K mode with C172.
    How you define "looked like"? Did you actually turn on the FPS info line? I only use GA acft, but I've never seen seen anything in the 60s with any setting and or acft.
    Can you post your settings, Resolution, acft...??
    It sounds like I could use some help?
    If you are not happy with 60FPS it is likely that you will never be happy. I would take 30 fluid any day.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    187

    Default

    1920x1080 res.

    FPS number from top-left of screen:

    Name:  Annotation 2019-09-19 204541.png
Views: 109
Size:  10.7 KB

    Settings:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	settings.png 
Views:	19 
Size:	100.3 KB 
ID:	212114
    Last edited by iainso; 09-19-2019 at 03:50 PM.
    Iain
    AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
    8GB AMD RADEON RX 580

  7. Default

    Yes, that looks about right. You will likely not see many / most of the objects, try to get at least Medium.
    For me anything less than 4K, Effects and Texture Max and 4XAA, and Field of view 90%, is not acceptable. Try that with a couple of circuits during Dusk around LAX, in the Zebo or C172 inside the Cpit, and let us know how you do.
    If you are happy with going around the empty scenery, and jaggies, that is perfectly fine. Stay with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Trouble Optimizing Graphics on a New PC | FSX
    By monkeysuncle in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-25-2016, 02:10 PM
  2. Optimizing FSX on Windows 8
    By Davfo in forum FSX
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-01-2013, 10:29 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-19-2010, 11:38 AM
  4. Optimizing the Radeon 9800 Pro
    By RDomine in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:15 AM
  5. Optimizing FS2004 for Lowly Video Device
    By amcostello in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2003, 02:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •