Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wonky ATC ?

  1. #1

    Default Wonky ATC ?

    FS2004. En route to EGHH a UK provincial airport. ATC gave me clearance to land on RW8. I'm on ILS approach & 15 miles away. At 5.5 miles my altitude goes off as I'm told to land.....then a 737 is given permission to take off. I assumed it would be gone when I arrived but it was a quarter of the way to take off. A mile (?) away I'm told to go around. This is not an unusual occurance.

    Is this normal flying experience ? I was surprised to be told to land then another told to take off.
    Has my ATC got a bug?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,362

    Default

    Naw, ATC is just stupid! I usually ignore the "go around" and land chasing the other aircraft down the runway.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    Also if you have Traffic Tools installed you can delete that aircraft on the runway then you will get clearance to land OK.
    You only delete it from that scenario, it isn't deleted from the sim so don't worry.
    Same as if you are in a long queue to take off, you can delete those aircraft in front of you then again you will get clearance to take off.

  4. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Naw, ATC is just stupid! I usually ignore the "go around" and land chasing the other aircraft down the runway.
    I would not call FS's ATC stupid. A little over-protective sometimes, maybe, through being standardised when all airports are in reality different. That's why human beings manage ATC in the real world.

    The reason it appears to give take-off clearance early at some airports is that the entry point to the runway is not at the end of the runway and the aircraft has to taxi out to the end before actually turning and commencing take-off.

    John

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    40 miles north KMSP
    Posts
    2,888

    Default

    https://flightaware.com/resources/airport/EGCC/map is a current overhead view of the real world EGCC. It has two approximate 10,000 foot parallel runways separated by 6,000 feet with the intent during busy traffic times to use one for takeoff and another for landing simultaneously.

    FS9 default airports do not recognize simultaneous run way operations. What scenery add-on are you using for EGCC if any. You can dedicate this type of operation by setting runway priviledges on EACH END the same, one runway for takeoff and the other for landings.

    Name:  EGCC Runways List FS9.jpg
Views: 114
Size:  97.2 KB

    This is the FS9 default EGCC partial runway information as shown in the freeware Airport Design Editor. There are others but please do not use AFCAD which is outdated and might corrupt your scenery files. The default EGCC has both runways enabled for take-off and landings. Modify so one is set for landings only on each end and the other take-off only on each end.

    The default EGCC Runway 6L/24R has ILS systems at each end and would be the preferred runway for landing.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manchester has a good discussion included about EGCC operations and design choices. Also note that while parallel, the runways are offset lengthwise from each other. This reduces taxi paths crossing an active runway.

    As John stated, there are runway entrances and exists besides the beginning points and for heavies some taxiing to one end of the runway via the runway (taxi-back) might be required.
    Last edited by ronzie; 08-17-2019 at 03:30 AM.
    KMSP - Minnesota: Land of 10,000 Puddles
    Support Team

  6. #6

    Default

    In FS9 I made a fictional EGCC afcad, I had one runway for landing and one for takeoff, I made a taxi path to keep landing and takeoff aircraft apart, it ran very well.
    I once showed it to an air traffic controller when I worked at EGCC and she was impressed, she said she could see how it worked, then she said, pity we have done all the work or that could have been an option here, it made my day lol.

    Col.

Similar Threads

  1. P3D4 & ATC Flights ATC Duel with Dual ATC Programs IFR KSUN to KWYS Phenom 300
    By polymerman in forum Prepar3D Screen Shots And Videos
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2019, 10:37 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-11-2013, 02:10 PM
  3. FSNav plan with ATC - ATC varies route
    By CajunRon in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2003, 09:02 PM
  4. FS CENTER ATC - PRO ATC
    By sameraindrop in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2002, 12:19 PM
  5. Online ATC or FS2002 ATC
    By rankin3 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2002, 01:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •