Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Immortal FS2004 problem; all modules in folder "missing or damaged"

  1. #1

    Default Immortal FS2004 problem; all modules in folder "missing or damaged"

    Most of this is fluff, skip to the 1s if you want to just get to the problem as opposed to how I got to the problem, but the 2s are what ultimately caused me to force a reinstall.

    We always hope a reinstall of FS2004 is just that; a fresh start that would kill anything that was causing the simulator to not run as intended. It's not something someone with hundreds of mods would want to do, but it's sometimes unavoidable.

    But unfortunately that's not always the case, sometimes even that won't fix all our problems.

    I could keep venting my frustration, but I'll cut right to the chase.

    While trying to register my FSDT DFW, well, it just didn't. That's no longer my problem, but what I did do was repeatedly run the FSDT DFW setup, hoping it would install correctly and maybe prompt me to put the serial code or something, rather than have unreliable FS9 try to register it while running (I've installed FSDT ORD in the past without incident, though). Downloaded a lot of modules...

    22222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222222

    Well eventually after many attempts, restarting FS9 hoping the scenery would stick, I would get the message "flight simulator was unable to load some aircraft or software. you can continue using flight simulator but....", for every single default module in the modules folder, and then would quit when it said acontain.dll was missing or damaged.

    Knowing I had been needing to reinstall FS9 for sometime after the issue with Gatwick, I did just that. Extra note, I uninstalled any payware addons first (FSDT, Blueprints).

    11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111

    Reinstalled FS9 with no incident, into my C: drive in a folder called "Flight Simulator 9" (I keep it out of program files as this was troublesome and bothersome when I first installed it). I did get a message saying there were some problems detected, but clicked "it worked correctly." It runs fine when running as administrator, but when I'm not, I get the same problem as described above; every module is missing or damaged (even with the reinstall!).

    The bright side is I can go to Gatwick now . But I would rather not have to always "run as administrator" since I'm lazy and that's an extra 2 seconds everytime I have to devote to using FS9, when I could just double click it, plus it seems like an easy solution to an underlying problem if all the modules are going to go haywire when I don't run as administrator.

    Any tips? Did the DFW payware potentially eff up the sim? It seems to be related to my administrator privileges and may not have anything to do with the actual sim; perhaps not running as admin makes the computer ignore the modules and calls them "missing"?

    I had to reinstall this a second time and upgraded to 9.1, no effect.

    Many thanks! Sorry I know this is a long read.

  2. Default

    Right-click FS9.exe, Properties, select the Compatibilty tab, and tick "Run this program as an administrator".

    John

  3. #3

    Default

    John, Actually Right-Click FS9.exe, Properties, select Compatibility tab, SELECT XP, then, at the bottom,TICK Run as Administrator

    (you left out the Compatibility selection)
    Robin
    Cape Town, South Africa

  4. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zswobbie1 View Post
    John, Actually Right-Click FS9.exe, Properties, select Compatibility tab, SELECT XP, then, at the bottom,TICK Run as Administrator

    (you left out the Compatibility selection)
    Maybe I left it out because mine is set at Windows 7.

    John

  5. #5

    Default

    Euhhh I should add I have Windows 10, but Windows XP Service Pack 2 is the default. I clicked it, I'm afraid it just asks me to run as admin again... which does work as far as running the sim, but I feel like it's an extra step I have to take when I could just double click and be on my way. It's not that big a deal, but, well it's just inconvenient.

    I suppose I can sweep this problem under the rug for now, but I have to wonder if anything else is affected, as far as modules go.

  6. #6

    Default

    You are having to do this because of Windows 10 and not FS9+Run As Admin. The solution would be to get Windows 7 64 bit. Or SET UP FS9 for Windows 10. You need to have updated to FS9.1 AND the NoCD exe. That combo, plus 'Run As Admin', will allow you to run FS9 in Full Screen with increased FPS (up to 500) and no issues with scenery or modules files being 'Locked'. Simple as that.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  7. #7

    Default

    Yup, that’s what I’ve got; 9.1 and noCD. Although the issue is just having to avoid always running as admin since that either is a patch to a problem, or I unknowingly always was somehow running as admin without specifying.

    Still I appreciate your help. I may consider a system restore to relieve me of that step. The problem is clearly not FS9.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    To set it to run as admin permanently do this....

    1. Right Click on the desktop icon and Select Properties from the menu list. A Properties info panel will open.
    2. Click on the Compatibility tab.
    3. Under the Settings section, click on the selection box located to the left of the 'Run this program as an administrator' statement.
    4. Click on the Apply button to set and then close the panel.
    Regards

    Brian

  9. #9

    Default

    This 'thought' may be far fetched but is it possible that MS made Win 10 'kid proof'? You set up compatability as 'permanent', and you don't have Win 10 password protected, and your kid sneeks and starts up FS9 and changes all your settings? Where if he don't know to right click and run as admin will make it hard for your kid to 'mess' with your sim? Maybe? Just a thought.
    Chuck B
    Napamule
    i7 2600K @ 3.4 Ghz (Turbo-Boost to 3.877 Ghz), Asus P8H67 Pro, Super Talent 8 Gb DDR3/1333 Dual Channel, XFX Radeon R7-360B 2Gb DDR5, Corsair 650 W PSU, Dell 23 in (2048x1152), Windows7 Pro 64 bit, MS Sidewinder Precision 2 Joy, Logitech K-360 wireless KB & Mouse, Targus PAUK10U USB Keypad for Throttle (F1 to F4)/Spoiler/Tailhook/Wing Fold/Pitch Trim/Parking Brake/Snap to 2D Panel/View Change. Installed on 250 Gb (D. FS9 and FSX Acceleration (locked at 30 FPS).

  10. Default

    Is it possible the OP did a Windows 10 update? I started with Windows XP and FS9 when it first came out. I have been making clones of that drive since I have so many addons. I use this HDD for FS9 only.
    However I did install FS9 on Windows 10 Pro recently on my main HDD. It ran well but when I "upgraded" Windows 10 from 1803 to 1903 my FS9 will not start anymore. I get an OOM error every time I try to start FS9. I have a 4TB HDD with 2.2TB of data on it. I also have 16GB of DDR3 RAM. I blame the no start on the "upgrade" from 1803 to 1903. OP did you update Windows 10 right before this problem?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My "Asia.cab" is damaged
    By garyyee in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 09:42 AM
  2. The Immortal Beaver
    By loki in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2008, 12:47 AM
  3. modules folder in FSX demo
    By remind in forum FSX
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-12-2006, 12:51 AM
  4. Older version of FSUIPC in modules folder?
    By jmarkg in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2002, 01:27 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 05:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •