Confused with New System with both SSD and HDD Drives

TomG628

Hi,

I'm not new to Flight Sim but have been away from it for several years. I finally got a new system with a 1 TB SSD drive and a 2 TB HDD drive. The computer came with Prepar3d already installed and ready to go. I'm new to a 2 drive system but so far have installed ORBX Global Base, Vector, N A Landclass, and Orlando city. I also downloaded but still have to install Global Mesh. I also installed 3 A2A aircraft. Everything installed to the SSD drive which is where the main program as well as Windows 10 are located. In Explorer it is clear that the SSD drive is the main drive and the HDD is the secondary or "X" drive. Everything I installed so far automatically installed to the SSD with no option to select another drive. I happened to look in Explorer and was surprised to see that 1/4 of the SSD drive is already used. I was advised to keep all Prepar3d files together on the same drive for more effficient loading, especially scenery files. I still plan on getting a weather program, more aircraft, and an AI traffic program such as Ultimate Traffic. Later on I also considered giving X-Plane 11 a try.

The computer was supposed to come with a 1/2 TB SSD drive but to be safe I went with the 1 TB. I've read of several experienced simmers that have great looking systems loaded with many addons with less memory than me or the same.