Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: P3D v4.5 Hotfix released!

  1. #1

    Default P3D v4.5 Hotfix released!


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    Thanks for posting that, I am checking it out as we type....

    Jorgen

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    Thanks for posting that, I am checking it out as we type....

    Jorgen
    Apparently the Prepar3d .cfg MUST be deleted for the Hotfix - it introduces a new line entry.

    I will probably not get round to this until the weekend - got several systems to update. Might do mine if I get time but I didn't have any problems with base 4.5 anyway!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    There are updates to the Client (the majority), Content, Scenery and SDK in the hotfix - I don't see anything requiring the deletion of the Prepar3d.cfg. And I didn't suffer the reported massive drop in FPS either.

    Not wanting to deal with the scenery, I installed the new client and content, and then went for a test flight on a flight I had done several times before over Drzewiecki design's New York City and Airports.

    Taking off from Teterboro, I then flew towards La Guardia and Kennedy, and in the beginning the flight seemed (according to my subjective memory) somewhat smoother.

    The major difference I saw, however, was when approaching La Guardia I crossed the East River. Here I used to have a stutter lasting several seconds, now this stutter was barely perceptible.

    So, based on this, I would say that the hotfix certainly has improved my system's performance.

    Jorgen

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    There are updates to the Client (the majority), Content, Scenery and SDK in the hotfix - I don't see anything requiring the deletion of the Prepar3d.cfg. And I didn't suffer the reported massive drop in FPS either.

    Not wanting to deal with the scenery, I installed the new client and content, and then went for a test flight on a flight I had done several times before over Drzewiecki design's New York City and Airports.

    Taking off from Teterboro, I then flew towards La Guardia and Kennedy, and in the beginning the flight seemed (according to my subjective memory) somewhat smoother.

    The major difference I saw, however, was when approaching La Guardia I crossed the East River. Here I used to have a stutter lasting several seconds, now this stutter was barely perceptible.

    So, based on this, I would say that the hotfix certainly has improved my system's performance.

    Jorgen
    Read further: Try without the Prepar3d.cfg and see if you get the new line in the `old` one. Obviously you will need to copy the old .cfg to be able to DO a line-by-line comparison - and by then you may as well just deleted the thing anyway!
    Temporary and `built` files should always be deleted on version and point change.
    L-M have full details courtesy of Poppet step-by-step guidance.

    I've gained about 10% fps (or rather recovered) but mostly it's smmmoooooooth where before FPS varied wildly - and I can finally run unlimited frames where before there was always a cost in average fps from limiting frame rate.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    The new line came info the "old" cfg by itself, but I made a copy, deleted the file and let it rebuild anyway, then put all my tweaks back in.

    And, to get over the pain of losing the default Beech King Air, I copied the one from FSX over, and it works perfectly in P3D.

    Jorgen

  7. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    The new line came info the "old" cfg by itself, but I made a copy, deleted the file and let it rebuild anyway, then put all my tweaks back in.

    And, to get over the pain of losing the default Beech King Air, I copied the one from FSX over, and it works perfectly in P3D.

    Jorgen
    Cool about the King Air. Thanks for that. Definitely will copy it over!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    I may be wrong, but it is my understanding that the default FSX aircraft will also work in P3D.

    No guarantees here, I can only say that the King Air ported over successfully on my system.

    Jorgen

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    I may be wrong, but it is my understanding that the default FSX aircraft will also work in P3D.

    No guarantees here, I can only say that the King Air ported over successfully on my system.

    Jorgen
    Some may. Most wont: You cannot tell what it will do to your P3Dv4.x installation...

    As development moves on, the aircraft compatibility substantially reduces. PBR textures can have unfortunate effects on non-PBR aircraft...

Similar Threads

  1. P3D v3.3.5. 17625 (the Hotfix) released
    By mallcott in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-11-2016, 12:44 PM
  2. P3D Hotfix install question
    By b3burner in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-19-2015, 02:51 PM
  3. Another P3d hotfix is out!
    By arclight in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2015, 03:32 PM
  4. ASN for P3D 2.5 + hotfix in open beta
    By vgbaron in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-25-2015, 02:31 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-09-2009, 11:58 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •