Newbie question: when do you make the turn??

nrios

I'm new to flying.

Say I'm doing a left pattern.

I just finished my downwind leg after I saw that the runway that was parallel to me was at 45 degrees on my left back side.

And am now on the base leg I'm about to make a left turn for final approach. I'm at a 1000 ft. altitude and speeding along at 70 kias on my Cessna 172. My flaps are at 10 degrees. I want to make a left turn. At what point in time should I turn if I want to make a 30 degree turn??

Should I turn when I see the runaway at my left at my 11 o'clock, 10 o'clock or at 9 o'clock position?

The first few times I tried turning left I ended up turning too late or too early and I ended up overshooting or falling short of the runaway at final approach.

Thank you.

It takes practice to decide that on a consistent basis. There's no hard and fast rule, since it depends on winds, your rate of turn, etc. Basically, just practice a left turn to line up with something over and over (in that landing configuration) until you've learned to judge it. Keep in mind that a slight overshoot or undershoot is no big deal, since it's easy to correct and get back on the line. Then you'll want to do the same thing to the right for those times when you're doing a right hand traffic pattern.

One hint, though: when the runway ahead of you seems to be pointing straight up at the top of the screen, not "leaning" slightly left or right, then you are properly aligned with the runway. And do your corrections gently -- being in a hurry leads to getting behind the airplane. "The hurrieder I go, the behinder I gets."

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

...One hint, though: when the runway ahead of you seems to be pointing straight up at the top of the screen, not "leaning" slightly left or right, then you are properly aligned with the runway...