Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Will my PC run P3D v4 or will I have to upgrade components?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Texas, somewhere near KAUS
    Posts
    567

    Default Will my PC run P3D v4 or will I have to upgrade components?

    Howdy,

    I have read both the minimum and recommended system requirements on Lockheeds website, but was wondering if I would have performance issues even though I meet minimum specs?


    System specs: AMD FTX 6300 six core processor 3.5 GHz, Video card Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB on board,
    Windows 8.1 64 bit and 1 TB on hard drive.

    Thanks
    System specs: AMD FTX 6300 six core processor 3.5 GHz, Video card Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB on board,
    Windows 8.1 64 bit and 1 TB on hard drive.

  2. #2

    Default

    It will run, but I believe your video card will be the weak link. I would recommend a 900-or-plus series GTX card with at least 4 GB of VRAM. If you upgrade the video card be sure to check if your power supply is adequate. Good Luck!


    Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.5GHz; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB GDDR5X; ASRock Z270 K6 Gaming MB, 16GB DDR4-3000 RAM; 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD; Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; 34" 21:9 curved 4K Monitor

  3. #3

    Default

    That AMD is going to be pretty weak as well.

    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Texas, somewhere near KAUS
    Posts
    567

    Default

    Thanks guys, so without breaking the bank for the new components, do you think I would be better off with v3? Also @Luke, I'm not the best with these computer parts specs, are you talking about the Ghz or the amount of cores being weak?
    Last edited by hornetdriver25; 04-02-2019 at 12:19 PM.
    System specs: AMD FTX 6300 six core processor 3.5 GHz, Video card Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB on board,
    Windows 8.1 64 bit and 1 TB on hard drive.

  5. #5

    Default

    I don't know the differences between v3 and v4 other than they are 32- and 64-bit respectively. I have only experience with FSX and P3Dv4. I don't think the six cores will do you much good, since these programs are basically single core dependent, with additional cores only serving certain auxiliary tasks. CPU speed is the most important factor in performance, but 3.5 GHz is not too bad, if it can be overclocked that would help. You should have at least 8 GB of system RAM, but 16 GB would be better. I would definitely go for v4 as this represents the future trend.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Texas, somewhere near KAUS
    Posts
    567

    Default

    What about my GPU, I can't afford the 8gb nvidia cards? Can I go with my card now or is that going to be a problem?
    System specs: AMD FTX 6300 six core processor 3.5 GHz, Video card Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB on board,
    Windows 8.1 64 bit and 1 TB on hard drive.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hornetdriver25 View Post
    Also @Luke, I'm not the best with these computer parts specs, are you talking about the Ghz or the amount of cores being weak?
    Neither - the performance of each core is pretty weak.

    https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/Compar...300/1317vs1555

    That's being compared against a 5 generation old Intel CPU.

    Cheers!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Texas, somewhere near KAUS
    Posts
    567

    Default

    Thanks, I appreciate the clarification
    System specs: AMD FTX 6300 six core processor 3.5 GHz, Video card Nvidia Geforce GTX 750 Ti 2 GB on board,
    Windows 8.1 64 bit and 1 TB on hard drive.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hornetdriver25 View Post
    What about my GPU, I can't afford the 8gb nvidia cards? Can I go with my card now or is that going to be a problem?
    Sure - that is the only way to find out. Start with minimum graphics settings and gradually move them up to see what is acceptable. Also be aware that your monitor's resolution plays a role in the load on the GPU, 4k monitors are quite demanding. I hope you will find a workable setup.


    Intel Core i7-7700K @ 4.5GHz; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB GDDR5X; ASRock Z270 K6 Gaming MB, 16GB DDR4-3000 RAM; 500GB SSD + 2TB HDD; Windows 10 Pro 64-bit; 34" 21:9 curved 4K Monitor

  10. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke View Post
    That AMD is going to be pretty weak as well.

    Cheers!
    Not sure about that AMD, but with all that 6 cores it looks much better then my old i3 340 And I'm still able to sim with it.
    Actually, P3D doesn't load processor that much compared to FSX. It loads GPU instead. Until you begin to use traffic...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can I Upgrade Components on a Pre-Built Computer
    By Joe12pack in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-19-2014, 11:26 PM
  2. Selling off components from my old PC
    By Jack19262 in forum Swap Meet
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 05:30 AM
  3. Using Can of Air on PC components
    By RyanbATC in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-31-2006, 07:42 PM
  4. Getting New PC - need advice on what components
    By ibaker in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2005, 03:22 PM
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-11-2002, 07:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •