Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: AI traffic files in another folder.

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    2,459

    Default

    Well so far none of these suggestions have worked.

    @Brian, when you say you have a folder outside the sim, can you show an example screenshot and how to go about it please?

    Col.

  2. Default

    Curious. Do you have FSX installed to the program files folder? If so, that could be the source of your issue. Next. When you right click the FSX.exe icon, is run as administrator turned on?

    I highly recommend the Scenery Config Editor program. You can easily manage, add and remove scenery right from the interface both for FS2004 and FSX. So with that you can easily add a path to what ever scenery you're trying to activate no matter where it's located. Just make sure that after you add/remove/edit a scenery entry you go to File and Save.


    https://sourceforge.net/projects/fs-sceditor/

    I believe it's coded in Java so if you don't have that you'll need it. https://www.java.com/en/download/windows_xpi.jsp

    Now mind you I would not allow Java to run in your browser for security reasons unless you need it for a specific reason. So make sure you go into your browser's plugins settings and either disable Java or select it to ask on activation. I've never ran across a website that needed Java so I chose to keep it disabled in my browser.
    Last edited by CRJ_simpilot; 03-16-2019 at 05:09 AM.

    My forum project. Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ColR1948 View Post
    .......show an example screenshot and how to go about it please?

    Col.
    Hi Col,

    No need for a screenshot as it is easier to describe - do this:

    First note the folder and subsequent subfolders can be named whatever you want and can be placed on any drive. However, to get a feel for what I mean and for basic testing to see if the procedure will resolve your issue I suggest using the folder names I state:

    1. Create a new root level folder called SceneryTest - eg C:\SceneryTest

    2. Open this folder and create a subfolder called AITraffic - eg C:\SceneryTest\AITraffic

    3. Open the AITraffic folder and create another subfolder called Scenery - eg C:\SceneryTest\AITraffic\Scenery

    4. Place a traffic file into the Scenery subfolder.

    5. Start FSX and open the Scenery settings page.

    6. Activate the new folder.

    TIP - You may be neglecting this well know issue (that become apparent in Win 7 and is relevant to all versions of windows since) and simple trick - it MAY BE the reason why the files aren't working. When you have navigated the folder location (i.e. when the open window shows the Scenery subfolder entry) LEFT click anywhere on the white space AND then click OK.

    7. Test FSX

    I also give a big +1 to CRJ_simpilot suggestion regarding SCE. Its a very powerful tool, allows you to add new scenery without having to start FSX/FS2004 and will flag any problem areas. The big plus is that when adding new areas you don't need to remember to click on the white area as it is not needed.
    Regards

    Brian

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    2,459

    Default

    Bingo Bri!

    You are a genius mate, again you did it, thanks pal.

    Col.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,306

    Default

    Hi Col,

    Now you have the basics it should be easy to create a folder structure to meet your needs....

    WRT the current location created for the test. If you used my example you have three options....

    Option 1 - Deactivate and then remove the entry in FSX settings before deleting the folder structure.

    Option 2 - Deactivate and then remove the entry in FSX settings then rename the root folder name to something more suitable before re-adding/activating it in FSX

    Option 3 - Rename the root folder to something more appropriate and then open the scenery.cfg file in notepad and amend the entry for it as follows:

    This is an example (from my .cfg) of a standard scenery entry for an item stored outside of FSX

    [Area.155]
    Title=Rwy12 Library
    Local=D:\Addon Scenery\Object Libraries\Rwy12 Library
    Layer=146
    Required=FALSE
    Active=TRUE

    The Local= entry is what tells FSX where to locate the scenery and the portion in RED is the bit that you would need to change - e.g. from SceneryTest to what ever you have changed it to.

    After making the change save the file and when you next start FSX it will rebuild the database.

    Note that if you decide to use SCE, it has a built in editor. If you select the area in the standard view list and then swap to the editor it will open at the selected area...
    Last edited by longbreak754; 03-16-2019 at 06:34 PM. Reason: Added Item in italics
    Regards

    Brian

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-02-2015, 02:01 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 12:50 AM
  3. traffic bgl.files in root folder
    By nypd in forum FSX
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 01:11 AM
  4. Texture folder inside effects folder?
    By rpowers46 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-20-2003, 08:51 PM
  5. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-16-2002, 06:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •