Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Found a nice P51 download, but would like to get rid of the external drop tanks!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,683

    Cool Found a nice P51 download, but would like to get rid of the external drop tanks!

    Sorry, title should show P51, not P%!. I must have had my finger held down on the shift key?
    Downloaded from SimOutHouse, file name p51dver2.zip. In that the download did not give an option of tanks vs no tanks, I would now like to figure out a way to get rid of the tanks. There are 2 entries in the air file, but I have not a clue of how that might help me get rid of the drop tanks! Any one out there that may have an answer or suggestions, I would appreciate it!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2019-3-16_16-1-19-646.jpg 
Views:	65 
Size:	284.8 KB 
ID:	208546

    Thanks - Rick
    Last edited by Nels_Anderson; 03-17-2019 at 10:07 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,357

    Default

    Didist thou readith this in the readithme file for the P!% aircraft?

    To drop them you need to set the arm switch's (2 one for each tank) in the VC they are on the switch panel just in behind the transponder right hand side of the VC.


    Tanks drop activation and drop switches
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tanks alot.JPG 
Views:	21 
Size:	83.7 KB 
ID:	208547

    Look, Ma, No tanks!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	no tanks.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	65.7 KB 
ID:	208548

    Tank you berry much for your attention!
    Last edited by mrzippy; 03-16-2019 at 06:29 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Didist thou readith this in the readithme file for the P!% aircraft?

    To drop them you need to set the arm switch's (2 one for each tank) in the VC they are on the switch panel just in behind the transponder right hand side of the VC.
    Yes, Charlie, I didith readith the section of the readithme for the P!% aircraft! I am not a fan of VC cockpits, so I didn't know where to start looking for the switches on the switch panel just in behind the transponder?? How is the switch panel placed in behind the transponder? I looked several times. If you go on to read the readithme file it also says you can go to an external view to see your drop tanks falling, which sounded as if this was a recurring event, should you decide to use it as such.

    It was getting late and I decided to move on with a 2d panel that I had for a P-51. It flies great, it does have 2 entries in the air file for the drop tanks, I was hoping that might help get rid of them. If not, I'm not going to worry about it.

    Rick


    The Red & White P-51 does look awfully nice without those large drop tanks. They look big enough to be used on smaller aircraft for flotation!
    Last edited by Downwind66; 03-16-2019 at 06:32 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    Charlie - Okay, my suspicions were correct! You can drop those tanks anytime you like, but they will come back, kind of like washing the dog of fleas and ticks, when you think you got it, not so, they are back! NOW, my original question, and I don't know if changing those items in the air file will do anything to keep the tanks from coming back? You probably know more about the airfile, I have Aired and have used it only for minor issues. Let me know you thoughts, if it can't be resolved, I'll get used to carrying those things around!

    Thanks Charlie! - Rick

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,357

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downwind66 View Post
    Charlie - Okay, my suspicions were correct! You can drop those tanks anytime you like, but they will come back, kind of like washing the dog of fleas and ticks, when you think you got it, not so, they are back! NOW, my original question, and I don't know if changing those items in the air file will do anything to keep the tanks from coming back? You probably know more about the airfile, I have Aired and have used it only for minor issues. Let me know you thoughts, if it can't be resolved, I'll get used to carrying those things around!

    Thanks Charlie! - Rick
    Sorry, I have never edited a .air file. Wonder why the tanks come back? Are they empty when dropped? I'll mucknaround with that aircraft tomorrow. Time to watch the Dubs trounce the Spurs
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    Thanks Charlie!

  7. Default

    Open the Aircraft.cfg file. Scroll down about 1/4 of the way and look for this section
    empty_weight_roll_MOI=7995.0
    empty_weight_pitch_MOI=20000.0
    empty_weight_yaw_MOI=42860.0
    empty_weight_coupled_MOI =0.00000
    station_load.0= 200, 0.000, 0.000, 3.000, Pilot
    station_load.1= 6, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, Pylons
    station_load.2= 20, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, Ext

    In the last line change the 20 to a 0 So it reads..
    "station_load.2= 0, 0.000, 0.000, 0.000, Ext"

    That should then stop the tanks loading. I've tested it in my copy of fsx and it's working.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,357

    Default

    The other thing Ive included, if you go to the load out screen in fs9 and remove the fuel and set the weights to 0 for the pylons and ext tanks they won't load onto the aircraft, or be seen in the sim so you can fly clean without having to switch models.

    The above, also from the README.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    Thank you Viper and mrzippy! So nice, not to have to look at those large, ugly drop tanks!

    Rick

    And, Charlie, I did go in on Aired and revised the air file for fuel tanks. No more drop tanks there either!

    Thanks again guys!
    Last edited by Downwind66; 03-17-2019 at 11:45 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    17,357

    Default

    Well, sure and begorrah, Saints preserve ya, and whack meself with a shillelagh, it drops tanks perfectly from an outside view!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	drop tank1.JPG 
Views:	17 
Size:	309.0 KB 
ID:	208581

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	drop tank2.JPG 
Views:	15 
Size:	323.8 KB 
ID:	208582

    Pour me another pint of mother's milk (Guinness Stout) Happy St. Paddy's day
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-13-2014, 10:01 AM
  2. Drop tanks
    By jp_langer in forum Panel & Gauge Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2007, 08:40 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 09:44 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-03-2003, 03:26 PM
  5. Drop tanks
    By WAD3 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-18-2002, 01:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •