Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Specifying AI landing direction

  1. #1

    Default Specifying AI landing direction

    FS2004
    I am trying to get an AI aircraft to land on the 27 end of runway only. I have designated in AFCAD to not let aircraft land on the 09 end and not take off on the 27 end. There is a mountain close to the 09 end. But Nooooooooo they want to land through the mountain on to the 09 end. Is there a way to specify AI aircraft to land on one end of the runway only, 27?

    Thanks
    Jay

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    Which was have you got the wind blowing?

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the idea to try; I was hopeful to try this. I tried it both ways. But the AI still prefer flying through the mountain to RW 09. I also check AFCAD fault finder and everything looks good. After flying through the mountain the AI lands ok.

  4. #4

    Default

    I noted that this split in EFCAD does not usually work for AI. You can close one end of the runway (both take-offs and landings); And AI will avoid it. If you want aircraft land on 27 close 9 completely. Regretfully the take-offs from 27 will probably hit the mountain. I did not find a solution for this except to create an ILS landings avoiding the mountain. This is a different chapter though.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    Also if the ai fly through mountains is your flightplan set as IFR or VFR, I seem to remember if it's VFR the AI doesn't take much notice of ATC but IFR then ATC should guide it over or round, I may be wrong as it was a long time ago I did this.

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi,

    I did lot of AI planning and IFR plan might vector AI over the mountain but then aircraft goes around (since flying too high) and does not land.
    The only way is to create ILS turn approach (ILS is primary for AI) and structure it in such a way that the mountain is avoided. But this is only if the mountain is not too close to the runway. I did a tutorial few years ago showing how to do these turn approaches using ADE. Have used Tivat LYTV runway 14 approach as an example.
    Send me private message with your email and I can zip you the tutorial c/w the ADE AFCAD.

    Cheers,
    Peter

  7. #7

    Default

    One thing you can try is to delete the Start Location for the runway end you don't want the AI aircraft to use.
    Tom Gibson

    CalClassic Propliner Page: http://www.calclassic.com

  8. #8

    Default

    In my many years of experience the saved and therefore active wind direction at any airport, remains the defining factor for influencing the approach directions for all AI (and user) aircraft. However, beware because you cannot just change the wind direction somewhere and then expect all AI approaches/landings to comply immediately. In such cases the active wind direction will keep coming from the system's memory.

    The best thing to do is to set up a user flight at that airport, to then change the wind direction and lastly to save the flight you have just set up. Your new wind direction will now also be saved and only after you have then re-opened your newly set up flight, will all AI (and user) aircarft comply to the new wind direction at the airport where you have saved your flight.

    But, but, but.

    When you want to fly to this airport yourself from any other airport, you can only save the wind direction at one of them and not at both. In your case you therefore need to change the wind direction at your destination airport and to then save the flight at your departure airport. Only after you have re-opened your saved flight at your departure airport, will all AI aircraft be approaching, landing and taking off correctly at your destination airport by the time you arrive there yourself.

    Good luck and I hope this helps.

    Hans

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi Hans,
    interesting to read your experience. I must say that I never had a situation when the winds would have a different direction than the one I have planned in the default "Customized" weather for all the weather stations. If a flight is saved with this option, the wind blows in the same direction everywhere. Also one saved flight should not influence another save flight.
    Cheers (Proost)
    Peter

  10. #10

    Default

    Peter, bedankt voor je proost !!

    It remains possible that when you change the wind direction at your destination airport, as I have described above, the wind direction actually becomes the same everywhere but I have in fact never checked this. Moreover, this is not really important but what is important is that all AI aircraft at your planned destination airport are actually behaving correctly by the time that you arrive there yourself.

    However, when you open any other non related flight, all wind directions will revert back to whatever is or was specified for that particular flight. It remains a pity that wind directions cannot be set and saved per airport.

    Groeten.

    Hans

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-23-2009, 07:18 PM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-24-2007, 04:49 PM
  3. Intel cancels Pentium 5 for new direction
    By davidd in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-17-2004, 04:29 PM
  4. Is This Microsofts new direction?????
    By rsmith6621 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-22-2002, 06:49 PM
  5. Problem with wind direction
    By nawyecky in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2002, 05:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •