Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PLEASE, someone tell me why my FSX keeps crashing!

  1. #1

    Question PLEASE, someone tell me why my FSX keeps crashing!

    Forgive the length of this post, but I have accumulated a lot of data while trying to isolate the cause of the (worsening) problem.

    After a total crash of my 2012 PC last summer, requiring a new hard drive, etc., I had the local Big Box PC Store (MicroCenter in Rockville, MD) custom-build a PC that “would run anything FSX and add-ons could possibly throw at it.” (My specs are below my signature.)

    After a reinstall of FSX, Acceleration, and some basic Orbx scenery (Global Base Pack, Global Vector), everything seemed OK, if not perfect. Over time, I added more Orbx regional scenery and a few fancy payware planes (e.g., Carenado Phenom, Flysimware Mitsubishi). Often, my flights, scenery, graphics, etc., have been beyond my wildest dreams. (I have been playing with FS since FS2 in the late 1980s.)

    Sadly, however, FSX is crashing (the sim, not the planes!) with increasing frequency, in one of the following manners (with NO other programs open):

    (1) The cursor turns to an hourglass, after which the sim closes and a “Windows Error!” notice says I am “out of memory,” and must shut down the sim and adjust the graphics;
    (2) The sim simply shuts down all by itself and recycles to the Free Flight opening screen;
    (3) upon changing situations (e.g., “Load . . . “ a saved flight, “Go to . . . ” an airport, open the map view from the cockpit, play a Flight Recorder .frc file, or even saving the damn flight), the graphics go “wacko,” and/or the planes turn into "ghosts" -- invisible in external view except for the lights and a few windows. (I was unable to upload jpeg screenshots to this forum, because it says my files are too big.) From this, there is no recovery; it requires exit and reopening of FSX -- or sometimes even a reboot of a totally frozen PC.

    All of the above often occur even when my FPS are at the preset max of 30.

    Have I tried experimenting? You bet. While these crashes are more likely to occur in high density scenery (e.g., Orbx England or S. Cal) and with detailed aircraft, they can even occur in sparse scenery, with the FPS running at 30 FPS. (Once, the sim crashed when I was parked at the gate with the engines off, and tried to load another flight!) Sometimes, FSX is basically unusable, even in unchallenging settings; on other days I can complete a flight in dense twilight scenery (e.g., SE England) at FPS 30, smooth as silk! As I say, the symptoms are inconsistent.

    MicroCenter and others seem to agree that I have plenty of memory. (So why those Windows error notices?) And the Orbx user docs claim that slider settings even higher than mine “will run well on most PCs . . . .” With FSX in Windows mode and the Carenado Phenom cruising over Orbx regional scenery, Task Manager says my PC is only using about 30% of its available memory, including all the Windows background garbage.

    Thanks all,

    Mac6737

    i7-8700 3.7 GHz
    GeForce GTX 1070 Ti; 8GB onboard
    AORUS Z370 Gaming 5 LGA 1151 ATX motherboard
    16GB RAM
    2 TB hard drive
    27” MSI gaming monitor, set at 2550 for FSX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    16,199

    Default

    Did you put the proper tweaks into your Sim? uiautomationcore.dll into you Main FSX folder? Added HIGHMEMFIX=1 to your FSX.cfg?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,894

    Default

    What version of Windows are we looking at here? Since you mentioned a "rotating hourglass", probably 7, but we need to know that.

    Are all your device drivers up to date, including those for your motherboard?

    Jorgen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    It's a little cold outside right now.
    Posts
    7,565

    Default

    The out of memory errors have nothing to do with the amount of physical RAM installed in the system. Give the link below a read on what they are and some tips on how to deal with them. A quick summary is that FSX itself can only access 4GB of virtual address space, and the more add-ons you add to the sim, the more address space it will use. Every system and FSX is install is different, so what works for system may not work for another. The suggested Orbx settings may work on many systems, but you will need to balance the settings for your specific system. There is a link at the top of the forum here with tips on how to setup FSX that may be of use too.

    https://support.precisionmanuals.com...om-errors.aspx

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi Mac6736,

    1. With what kind of ERR is your FSX crashing ? You will find the ERR display if you open your
    Win control menu and navigate to the event display services. Here a shot how the display looks like:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Event_Display.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	202.4 KB 
ID:	207033

    Sorry, my PC has a German Win version, so you have to navigate to the corresponding display function
    via your control panel. As you can see on the pic the FSX crashed by a g3d.dll error.
    In order to understand more about this ERR you have to look into the Crash To Desktop documentation available by AVSIM.
    Here the link for the latest version:
    https://www.avsim.com/files/file/93-avsim-ctd-guide/

    2. Clean up your PC from unused files, old software installs etc. . Run a registry cleaner tool like CCeaner for example.

    3. Just do a simple deactivation of all your scenery ADDONns on the FSX scenery setting screen, and go from there.

    4. Re-Name your current FSX.cfg ( e.g. to Test_FSX.cfg ) and start FSX with all settings to default and check how your system is is now doing.


    OK, so far my comments. Hope it helps.

    Dietmar

  6. #6

    Default

    Zippy, you give me too much credit. Apparently I have NOT put the proper tweaks into my sim. The driver uiautomationcore.dll is in my System 32 folder. R U suggesting I simply copy it and paste into the FSX root directory? (Sounds simple enough.) As to the FSX.cfg suggestion: where do I add the code? Anywhere?

    Thanks for your help.

    Mac6737

  7. #7

    Default

    Jorgen,

    Windows 10, installed in a new PC this past August.

    I have no idea whether my drivers are up to date. Like Zippy, you give me too much credit.

    Mac6737

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    16,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mac6737 View Post
    Zippy, you give me too much credit. Apparently I have NOT put the proper tweaks into my sim. The driver uiautomationcore.dll is in my System 32 folder. R U suggesting I simply copy it and paste into the FSX root directory? (Sounds simple enough.) As to the FSX.cfg suggestion: where do I add the code? Anywhere?

    Thanks for your help.

    Mac6737
    No, do not touch anything in your Systems32 folder! I'll look for an appropriate download. HIGHMEMFIX=1 under [Graphics].

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/adxsx0mxb6...mationCore.rar

    This is a .rar file, so once you have it downloaded then right-click on it and say "open with" 7Zip or Winzip and extract it as UIAutomationcore.dll.
    Last edited by mrzippy; 01-14-2019 at 02:15 PM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks, loki. That is indeed a helpful article.

    Mac6737

  10. #10

    Default

    mrzippy,

    Thanks again. I was able to put that driver in my Dropbox account and install. Of course, like everything else in computers, there were a few zigs and zags. It took me a while to give myself permission to modify the FSX root folder, and after I did it still said "Unzip unsuccessful." Nevertheless, the dll is where it should be, with the actual date of the insertion. So, looks to me like it was in fact successful.

    I have also added HIGHMEMFIX=1 (whatever that does) to the GRAPHICS section of FSX.cfg.

    I will continue to experiment and take notes.

    Mac6737

Similar Threads

  1. Why does my FSX keeps crashing?!
    By CaptainHashemi in forum FSX
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-21-2016, 01:01 PM
  2. FSX keeps crashing. Can someone help?
    By AlecMollenhauer in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2013, 02:10 AM
  3. Can someone tell me if FSX is destroying my laptop?
    By terrenceb in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-16-2011, 11:39 AM
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 09:07 AM
  5. Can someone please please please please send me this small file from Avsim?
    By MonarchVirtual in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-16-2003, 07:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •