PLEASE, someone tell me why my FSX keeps crashing!

Mac6737

Forgive the length of this post, but I have accumulated a lot of data while trying to isolate the cause of the (worsening) problem.

After a total crash of my 2012 PC last summer, requiring a new hard drive, etc., I had the local Big Box PC Store (MicroCenter in Rockville, MD) custom-build a PC that “would run anything FSX and add-ons could possibly throw at it.” (My specs are below my signature.)

After a reinstall of FSX, Acceleration, and some basic Orbx scenery (Global Base Pack, Global Vector), everything seemed OK, if not perfect. Over time, I added more Orbx regional scenery and a few fancy payware planes (e.g., Carenado Phenom, Flysimware Mitsubishi). Often, my flights, scenery, graphics, etc., have been beyond my wildest dreams. (I have been playing with FS since FS2 in the late 1980s.)

Sadly, however, FSX is crashing (the sim, not the planes!) with increasing frequency, in one of the following manners (with NO other programs open):

(1) The cursor turns to an hourglass, after which the sim closes and a “Windows Error!” notice says I am “out of memory,” and must shut down the sim and adjust the graphics;

(2) The sim simply shuts down all by itself and recycles to the Free Flight opening screen;

(3) upon changing situations (e.g., “Load . . . “ a saved flight, “Go to . . . ” an airport, open the map view from the cockpit, play a Flight Recorder .frc file, or even saving the damn flight), the graphics go “wacko,” and/or the planes turn into "ghosts" -- invisible in external view except for the lights and a few windows. (I was unable to upload jpeg screenshots to this forum, because it says my files are too big.) From this, there is no recovery; it requires exit and reopening of FSX -- or sometimes even a reboot of a totally frozen PC.

All of the above often occur even when my FPS are at the preset max of 30.