Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Maiden Captain Sims C-130 Flight

  1. #1

    Wink Maiden Captain Sims C-130 Flight

    Shalom and greetings all my pals,

    Presenting a nice Lockheed C-130E flight from PAFA Fairbanks International Airport located three miles southwest of the central business district of Fairbanks, Alaska to CYDA Dawson City Airport located 8 nautical miles east of Dawson City, Yukon, Canada.

    CYDA Dawson City airport is TOTALLY impossible to land UNLESS all of you tell me that Microsoft built that airport in wrong way for FSX.

    Airborne on climb to FL190 after my first Captain Sims C-130 take off from PAFA runway 02L for my first payware C-130 flight



    Still climbing



    Now cruising at FL190



    Beautiful three color tone winter sky





    Here is my new office!! (yeah four red lights in overhead panel is making me nervous)





    On final runway approach to runway 03 for SECOND attempt to land on that airport which turns out to be totally impossible to land on EITHER side of runway!!



    Yeah little dive is required to make successful landing on that extremely difficult airport





    Because of regulations of the forums not allowing more than 10 screenshots, please be kind enough to go to this hyperlink as seen below to view rest of the flight.

    Here is the link: http://calclassic.proboards.com/thre...ims-130-flight

    Thank you for viewing. Stay tuned for next exciting flight.

    Regards,

    Aharon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Dijon (Burgundy), France
    Posts
    1,289

    Default

    Hey! Fine plane, flight, fine all
    And we have a series now on a French TV chanel about the Tanana village in Alaskha along the Yukon!
    Gérard Guichard, Dijon, Burgundy, France. i5 Intel processor, 4 Go of Ram, Nvidia GeForce 920MX, DirectX 12.0, and FSX Gold Edition with SP1, SP2. My personal flightsim website is at http://flightlessons.6te.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam, Holland
    Posts
    26,449

    Default

    This is the real airport, paved runway and it used to be an air tanker base. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkopJ7EJqJE



    In default FSX the field is built in by mountain rigs, in real life the runway is more or less parallel to the mountain rigs.

    Great pics nevertheless Aharon!

  4. #4

    Default

    Great cargo set!
    Intel i-9 9900k @ 5.0 Ghz, EVGA 2080ti FTW3 11Gb, Corsair H115 PRO water cooler, Gigabyte Aorus Master motherboard, EVGA Super Nova 1000 watt G+ power supply, G.SKILL 64Gb ram @3800 MHz, HP EX 920 M.2 PCIe 3TB,Windows 10 Pro x64

  5. #5

    Default

    Flightsimg, Peer01, and Pugillist2,

    Thanks for your kind words!!

    Regards,

    Aharon

  6. #6

    Default

    Peer01,

    The trouble with FSX defaut CYDA airport scenery and difficulty to land there is that Microsoft designed wrong high hills or mountains on both ends of runway!! You cannot approach both ends of single runway without hitting high hills or mountains due to Microsoft's wrong design of the surrounding areas of the CYDA scenery placing TOO high mountains or hills in front of both ends of runway.

    Why CYDA is totally impossible for me to land can be seen on those 2 videos (look for TOO HIGH HILLS on both ends of single runway meaning if I want to land, I have to fly over TOO high hillls and then DIVE steep and then land.

    Look at this DC-6 taking right turn after take off to avoid too high hills but that does not help me as I need to land!!



    Regards,


    Aharon

  7. #7

    Default

    Peer01,

    Here is another video showing plane doing extremely deep climb to avoid mountains so you can imagine requirement of DEEP DIVE to get to runway


  8. #8

    Default

    Very nice camera angles. Very nice shots.
    FSX Gold - Acceleration. HP Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU. W3503 @ 2.40GHz 2.39 GHz, 8.00GB RAM, 64-bit. Windows 7 Professional

  9. #9

    Default

    David,

    Thanks for your kind words.

    Regards,

    Aharon

Similar Threads

  1. Do you use other kinds of sims? (not just flight sims)
    By Tyrion101 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-25-2014, 08:04 PM
  2. Captain Sims C-130 with FSNav
    By flyalaska in forum FS2004
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-05-2011, 03:47 AM
  3. Captain Sims C-130 in FSX YES!
    By Mephix in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 09:08 PM
  4. FSX- Fat Albert Captain Sims C-130 on final
    By Mephix in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 08:26 PM
  5. Captain Sims C-130
    By ernie01 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-25-2003, 03:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •