VOR Questions

tecboy

Hey Guys n Gals,

Newbie here to the world of flying VOR. Rather than just flying around, I have grown up and decided I want to fly to other places and actually know where I am going. In watching a plethora of vor instruction videos, I still cannot figure out how to enter the frequency into my NAV 1 Radio.

My first assignment to myself is to go FROM Miami Executive airport 118.90 and fly TO Miami International Airport 118.30

After receiving the frequency of 118.30 for the Miami International Airport VOR via skyvector.com, I am trying to enter it into the Nav1 frequency area of Nav 1 Radio. Whats funny is I have not seen anyone in a training video, type in anything more than 117.00 in Nav 1. It simply will not allow me to type in a 118.00 or greater frequency in the NAV1 or even NAV 2 area of either NAV radios. If I select Comm 1 it allows me to do that. However, I need to NAVigate to the 118.30 VOR. Am I doing something wrong?

It seems like NAV 1 or Nav 2 frequencies are not allowed to be higher than 117.00

I simply want to fly from one vor (airport) to another vor (Airport) 10 miles away. As a test and my first successful VOR flight. Please help me understand this. Thanks in advance

Tec

118.3 is a communications frequency. The highest available navigation frequency is 117.95, so that 118.3 is not a navigation (VOR) frequency. It is the Miami Tower frequency. 118.9 is Tamiami Tower (KTMB, Miami Executive). Apparently you misinterpreted what you were reading. Neither of those fields has a VOR on the field. The Virginia Key VOR (VKZ) is 117.1 and the Dolphin VOR is 113.9.

Navigation freqs run from 108.0 to 117.95, communications frequencies from 118.0 to 136.875.