Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Will My PC Run P3D Ver4

  1. Default

    Check out the 9600k. This is a 9th generation Intel CPU dubbed Coffee Lake and was released quarter 4 of 2018. You will most likely need a 300 series chipset motherboard. You can only run Windows 10. If you run Windows 7 you won't get updates so you'd need to apply this hacked patch. https://github.com/zeffy/wufuc

    It does say Kaby Lake. Not sure if it will work with Coffee Lake.

    Make sure you buy a reputable PSU.

    Install P3D to the root of C only and install it as Admin. Your path would be C:\P3D.

    The programs folder is protected and can be a PITA to work with if you install to the default location that the installer wants you to install to.
    Last edited by CRJ_simpilot; 01-06-2019 at 02:25 AM.

    My forum project Click me
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  2. Default

    Thx.Windows 10 be ok,Read i need that for better Graphics ?.

  3. Default

    No, you need Win10 to use the cpu fully. The features of modern cpu's need Win10 to make use of them. Using Win7 the features will not be used, as that OS does not know about them.
    (there's more to it then just missing updates)

    Also, unlike what was said before, P3D does use multiple cores and even multiple threads if your cpu has them. (hyperthreading).

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,888

    Default

    P3D also makes more use of your graphics card than FSX does, but exactly how much more varies with what you have on your system.

    It is still mainly a CPU-oriented application, so the CPU clock rate should be the main factor in selecting a new main board and CPU.

    Jorgen

  5. Default

    Thanks everyone for all the good info.Back about 17-20 years ago a fellow told me that Intel was more into business type apps,and AMD was into the game and video,me I just know enough to get in trouble,

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,888

    Default

    The debate on Intel vs. AMD is a long one, with fanatical diehards on both sides.

    All I can tell you is that I have been running FSX, and now also P3D, on Intel processors (first an i3 and now an i7 7700K) with nVidia graphics and have had no issues whatsoever.

    Jorgen

  7. Default

    Think Ill start with Intel LGA 2066 motherboard,low end cpu up grade later.

  8. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by harry2112 View Post
    Think Ill start with Intel LGA 2066 motherboard,low end cpu up grade later.
    Then forget P3D until later.
    You need a well-matched system, mobo, CPU, GPU and RAM to run P3D

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-06-2018, 09:35 AM
  2. Can my PC run P3D?
    By fsxnewbie17 in forum PC Hardware, Video And Audio Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2017, 08:20 AM
  3. do you think that FS2002 will run on my PC?
    By adamwarren in forum FS2002
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-23-2002, 07:12 PM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-11-2002, 08:39 AM
  5. do you think that FS2002 will run on my pc?
    By adamwarren in forum FS2002
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-2002, 05:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •