Progression to bigger aircraft?

Kirk

Happy New Year to everyone!

So I've been flying Cessnas 172 and 182 for a couple of months now as a new flight simmer. I'm not quite ready to move on to something bigger (I still can't fly a circuit without it looking like a toddler's crayon drawing) but I want to eventually move on. I wonder if you experienced pilots, simmers or IRL, can suggest a progression I might take to eventually end up in a commercial jumbo jet. Should I move on to twin prop aircraft next? Or maybe small jets. I'm just looking for some guidance.

Prepar3d v4: HP Omen Desktop. Intel Core i7-8700K (6 Core, 3.7GHz), NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (11GB dedicated GDDR5X), 16GB RAM, 2TB Hard Drive, 1TB SSD, 512GB SSD, Windows 10.

Personally, I'd switch to a Mooney, Bonanza or Baron (or similar) next, then once comfortable with the airplane, learn to fly by instruments (the built in lessons can help, as can the FAA's Instrument Flying Handbook). This will help you a lot when moving on to larger, faster, more complex aircraft.

Then perhaps a twin turboprop such as an Aero Commander, Navajo or maybe as big as a King Air. The aim is to get used to things happening faster and to more complex cockpits a little at a time, then get comfortable with that before moving to the next step. And be sure you can easily use pretty much anything in the cockpit before moving to the next step.

Next probably would be a small bizjet, such as a Citation or Lear. You'll probably want to repeat a lot of the exercises you used in the Cessnas in order to get more comfortable with things.

Remember that in the sim it's tougher to look around and to see what's out there than it is in real life (which is why I went to the TrackIR), but you can work out a combination of cockpit and spot views to (at least partially) compensate for that, though there's not really a way to compensate for feel.

Larry N.

As Skylab would say:

Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!