Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: scenery bgl files

  1. #1

    Default scenery bgl files

    I installed several scenery bgl files in FSX addon/scenery/scenery folder, but the scenery does not appear when running the sim.

    any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Don

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,684

    Default

    What version of windows are you running Don?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don T. View Post
    I installed several scenery bgl files in FSX addon/scenery/scenery folder, but the scenery does not appear when running the sim.

    any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Don
    Hi Don, there's a bit more to it than that... but you're almost there. Follow the steps in this guide to see your scenery in FSX: http://www.fstipsandaddons.com/how-t...cenery-in-fsx/
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 7 x64

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don T. View Post
    I installed several scenery bgl files in FSX addon/scenery/scenery folder, but the scenery does not appear when running the sim.

    any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Don
    And then what did you do? How did you add them to the scenery GUI?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    16,060

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tiger1962 View Post
    Hi Don, there's a bit more to it than that... but you're almost there. Follow the steps in this guide to see your scenery in FSX: http://www.fstipsandaddons.com/how-t...cenery-in-fsx/

    Tim, this guy's step after installing the .bgl file to AddonScenery/scenery folder seems odd. Usually as you start FSX it will run the status bar and add the new scenery file. No need to go to the Scenery Library and say OK. May only apply if adding the .bgl while FSX is running.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,305

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Tim, this guy's step after installing the .bgl file to AddonScenery/scenery folder seems odd. Usually as you start FSX it will run the status bar and add the new scenery file. No need to go to the Scenery Library and say OK. May only apply if adding the .bgl while FSX is running.
    That's true, it shouldn't have to be added to the library if it's in Addon Scenery/scenery - maybe there are textures which should also be in Addon Scenery/texture?

    Sent from my KFDOWI using Tapatalk
    Tim Wright "The older I get, the better I was..."
    Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7, Intel i5-7600k 3.80GHz OC'd 4.2GHz, NZXT X62 Kraken, 16Gb 3500MHz Ram, 1TB & 2TB Samsung Hybrid SSD's, LG DVDRW, NVidia GTX1050Ti 4Gb, Phanteks Enthoo Pro M case, CH Yoke & Pedals, Asus K272HL 27" Monitor, Windows 7 x64

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don T. View Post
    ... in FSX addon/scenery/scenery folder ...
    I hope this is a typo.
    Correct location is <yr FSX folder>\Addon Scenery\scenery.
    AND the Addon Scenery folder itself needs to be active (or activated) in the Scenery Library.

    Wim

  8. #8

    Default

    Hi.

    It was a typo. Your solution solved the problem. For some unknown reason the "Addon Scenery" folder was missing for the scenery library. I activated it and all's well.Many, many thanks for your help.

    Cheers. Don

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    1,684

    Default

    Hi Don, So you activated it, did you do this by clicking on the empty white space in the in the folder screen or just by having it ticked in the menu?

  10. Default

    Hi.

    I opened the scenery library in FSX and added it to the list.

Similar Threads

  1. FS X BGL Compilers XML to BGL
    By Ragtopjohnny in forum FSX
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2007, 07:20 PM
  2. AF2 BGL vs a plan BGL
    By lennyb in forum FS2004
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-31-2006, 04:44 PM
  3. Re: Exporting gmax files to bgl... but no bgl file is genera
    By wsieffert in forum Scenery Design Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2004, 02:46 PM
  4. Exporting gmax files to bgl... but no bgl file is generated
    By jbellavance in forum Scenery Design Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-07-2004, 05:16 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2001, 07:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •