Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: Increase download speeds

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    276

    Default


  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,276

    Default

    Lol, I'm jealous. My old 4meg connection is good for about 1gig an hour d/l, about a fourth of that for upload.

  3. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rick View Post
    What do you pay for that?

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    FS2004 and FSX are CPU ORIENTATED games. Don't go hog wild on a GPU! Won't matter.
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 1996
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    276

    Default

    It's all part of the package with the TV, Phones, Internet and
    I do have the DVR package w/ 3 TV boxes, 2 phones. All told
    it is about $250/mo but I use if for work. But, I still have my
    1200 baud Hayes Smartmodem and a couple of US Robotics
    v.everything modems just in case!! Over the years we have
    had quite the assortment of the highest speed possible solutions
    including virtual bonded ISDN for 128Kb. 8-)
    I spent my dues time with a teletype so I am getting even!

    Be Careful Out There!
    Rick

  5. Default

    Yeah, I have a triple play package from Comcast. Phone, Internet and TV. It's not necessary in this day and age to have a landline, but I use that phone number for a wide variety of crap because I have a dual firewall on it so to speak to combat telemarketers. One, I have a netbook computer that is connected to a USB dial-up modem that the phone is connected to. On the computer it runs PhoneTray and blocks all kinds of numbers and I get distinctive rings for callers on my list. The netbook also serves as a basic small FTP server who's storage is on a 15 GB SD card. I use it as an additional basic backup for important files like my Keepass database, etc, and I use it to transfer files between my phone and computers or computer to computer. The the netbook also functions as a basic web searching computer for recipes, etc. The netbook sits in the kitchen next to the phone connected to a monitor and external mouse/keyboard, and I call it the Kitchen Kiosk. It's been running 24/7 for the last five or six years now. LOL!

    The other firewall layer I have on the phone is Nomorobo. That right there has prevented so much crap it isn't even funny. Although with both PhoneTray and Nomorobo the phone will ring once and that's it. I don't give out my cell number all over the place to minimize telemarketers and what have you on there. Much like how I treat my bank, PayPal, Amazon, eBay, etc email account. One thing about cell phones, there really isn't a good solid way at preventing telemarketers on those. Although, I think Congress is trying to fix that. The Apps I used were all junk, and Nomorobo does have their App which has a monthly fee, but has low ratings at Google Play.

    I want to cancel the asinine and expensive addition of a landline with Comcast and go Ooma, but right now I'm locked into a contract. And Comcast TV is a whole other PITA of crap. It's no wonder there are so many cord cutters. I may go full Roku one day here.

    One the subject of dial-up. I actually had to use it once for a very, very old HP netbook. This netbook didn't have USB or a CD drive. So the only way I was able to transfer files to it was via the PCMCIA modem card. I found a free dial-up provider that gave 10 hours a month. Once I got a connection I navigated to a FTP I had and downloaded drivers and other programs. This netbook used to monitor my router though SNMP, but one day the cat knocked the damn thing onto the ground and it no longer boots. I'm going to buy a nice high quality nettop one day for PFsense. I'll need it come the day I run Windows 10.

    I looked into using dial-up on a smartphone with an App that may exist, but it was a fruitless endeavor. I thought if I had a phone signal and no data I could use dial-up. Well, it turns out that the audio capabilities of a cell signal are not there to meet a dial-up connection like a landline. What is interesting though is that I have a few Fax Apps on my phone to send and receive faxes. But I think that works with an Internet connection and their servers and not the phone line like a modern fax machine uses. Their servers would receive your fax and then send it via POTS in the normal fax sending way.

    Anyway... love computers, technology, electronics, telephony, radio communications and aviation. I want to one day create my own SIP trunk. But as I was reading about it I was getting a headache. LOL One day I may conquer it though. Just something I've always wanted to do.

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    FS2004 and FSX are CPU ORIENTATED games. Don't go hog wild on a GPU! Won't matter.
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  6. Default

    Oh! DVRs. Yeah, I can't believe companies charge YOU to record what should be free in a built-in HDD. There is a DVR on eBay that goes for big bucks that doesn't need a subscription. It does what a DVR is supposed to do: record TV without a middle man. I can't remember its name now though. The other solution would be a HTPC with a 4 TB or larger HDD. I don't have a need for a DVR or a HTPC though, so not interested in that myself.

    With Comcast we have X1 and the cable box has like a built-in 30 minute HDD so I can pause and rewind TV withen that time span. It's nice since I have paused TV shows, went out for a smoke and came back and was able to fast forward though commercials since it buffered about 15 minutes of air time. I read Comcast brought this free 30 minute DVR to market to pause TV on the insistence of customers.

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    FS2004 and FSX are CPU ORIENTATED games. Don't go hog wild on a GPU! Won't matter.
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rick View Post
    ...
    I spent my dues time with a teletype so I am getting even!
    ...
    Lol, my first computer experience was time-shared basic on an HP-2000e; TTY terminals and acoustic couplers (aka cradle modems). That 300 baud connection was blazing. Still have an old HP punch tape drive, used it a couple of years ago ...as a doorstop.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Similar Threads

  1. Download speeds here
    By Ridge_Runner_5 in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-02-2004, 10:38 AM
  2. Slow Download Speeds
    By jasham in forum FS2002
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-22-2003, 03:07 PM
  3. Download Speeds
    By deaddonkey in forum FS2002
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-23-2002, 11:18 AM
  4. Download Speeds revisited!
    By ChristopherT in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 04-16-2002, 08:40 PM
  5. Download speeds
    By Novatar in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-12-2002, 07:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •