Autopilot or manual?

Kirk

I know this is close to several other threads here, but it is a little different so...

I'm still learning this whole new adventure of flightsim and especially how to use my yoke 'n' stuff and I've been staying manual. But sometimes I get frustrated and am tempted to just set the AP, grab a cup of coffee, and watch the scenery go by. But I figure I'll learn faster (obviously) and enjoy this new hobby more in the long run if I stick to manual flight, at least here in the beginning.

I'm curious to know how those of you who fly (sim) smaller aircraft do so. Do you use your autopilot most of the time or do you manually fly your aircraft?

Prepar3d v4: HP Omen Desktop. Intel Core i7-8700K (6 Core, 3.7GHz), NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti (11GB dedicated GDDR5X), 16GB RAM, 2TB Hard Drive, 1TB SSD, 512GB SSD, Windows 10.

I only fly GA, usually the stock C-172. On long cross country flights I'll set the autopilot and spend some time taking in the sights or checking out the AI. I have a lot of legacy airliners from the 1979's flying around with a special interest in Southern Aiways because I grew up in a Southern family. I recently bought the Carenado 172N though, and it doesn't have an auto pilot, so I hand fly it everywhere. The good part is that it levels out perfectly "on the step", as my Dad used to say about our plane. In short, do what makes you comfortable, fly where you want to fly, and read Pilot Operating Handbooks for fun and knowledge. I will tell you from real life experience, a 3 hour flight in a 172 without autopilot is a long, boring day!

Last thought; my Dad and brother were airline pilots. They took off, climbed to 10,000 feet, flipped on the auto pilot and had a cup of coffee. The only excitement was seeing which Playboy centerfold somebody had stuck in the Emergency Procedures Manual. That was the 1980's though, so things may have changed a bit.