Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: New Freeware Download, Manifold Pressure gauge Dead!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downwind66 View Post
    I am glad yours is without issues. I did get the Manifold Pressure working. Took that bad boy up, tailwheel shook pretty good until I got it off the ground. All was good, yes, nice flying aircraft, then I landed, soon as the tailwheel touched down, I thought I would lose some fillings in my mouth. It's almost like in RW where you would suspect a wheel being out of balance. Oh well, I'll keep kicking it around!

    Maybe, I should try downloading it again?

    Thanks Charlie! Rick
    Where are you flying out of?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Where are you flying out of?
    Charleston, SC, KCHS RWY 33. I tried another airport, same thing. I reloaded , same thing.

    Do me a favor, when you have some idle time try taking off, have an external view and watch the tail section down to the tailwheel and see if you see it, also, a whole lot of smoke coming from the tail wheel, should not be happening either?

    Thanks, Charlie, and let me know your findings, if any!

    Rick

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,935

    Default

    I have done that and don't really see any tailwheel chatter. I do see the smoke. Post a screenshot, maybed of a closeup of the tailwheel without the akircraft moving. Possibly a slight up or down adjustment will clear things up?

    On takeoff, I reach 60-65 knots fairly quickly and the tailwheel lifts off and off we go!
    Last edited by mrzippy; 09-15-2018 at 11:45 AM.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    I have done that and don't really see any tailwheel chatter. I do see the smoke. Post a screenshot, maybed of a closeup of the tailwheel without the akircraft moving. Possibly a slight up or down adjustment will clear things up?

    On takeoff, I reach 60-65 knots fairly quickly and the tailwheel lifts off and off we go!
    Got it, Charlie! I kept looking at the aircraft config, I dropped the tailwheel by .05, didn't help.
    I went to the forcefeedback section of the aircraft.cfg and silenced // all the ground bump entries, and now you could eat off the hortizontal stabilizer!!

    I don't know which one was giving me a problem, I'll just leave them silenced for now!

    I do like that aircraft! I doctored up the panel a bit as it was missing some items. It is definitely a keeper for me now!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2018-9-15_13-47-55-827.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	379.3 KB 
ID:	204904

    Thanks - Rick
    Last edited by Downwind66; 09-15-2018 at 02:51 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Well, it lasted for that one takeoff. Maybe I babied it coming on with the throttle, the time it did work, anyway, I'm not going to worry about it!

    Rick

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Tailwheel lock?
    Mr Z - Well, I have tried just about everything, but last night, I tried the Shift +G again to lock the tailwheel, opened an external view and it worked like a charm! Tried this several times, and still no shaking at the tail wheel. BUT, what a pain that will be to every time I takeoff or land. Would be nice if I could have a way of creating a shortcut to make this automatic, but then I might be locking it down for landing which might not be a good thing to do? Your thoughts?

    Thanks - Rick

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downwind66 View Post
    Mr Z - Well, I have tried just about everything, but last night, I tried the Shift +G again to lock the tailwheel, opened an external view and it worked like a charm! Tried this several times, and still no shaking at the tail wheel. BUT, what a pain that will be to every time I takeoff or land. Would be nice if I could have a way of creating a shortcut to make this automatic, but then I might be locking it down for landing which might not be a good thing to do? Your thoughts?

    Thanks - Rick
    Make it party of your checklist of things to do when flying the P-51. Probably something the real pilots have to do?
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Make it party of your checklist of things to do when flying the P-51. Probably something the real pilots have to do?
    Thanks Charlie, do you have to lock yours down? I can live with the checklist thing, at least no more shakes!

    Rick

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downwind66 View Post
    Thanks Charlie, do you have to lock yours down? I can live with the checklist thing, at least no more shakes!

    Rick
    Don't fly it that often, so it never bothered me that much. I tend to fly from the cockpit, not in outside view.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrzippy View Post
    Don't fly it that often, so it never bothered me that much. I tend to fly from the cockpit, not in outside view.
    Yes, I do too, once I know there are no issues with the download. I tried flying this P51 from the cockpit before an outside view, and it wanted to throw me out of the cockpit, similiar to when a bucking bronco wants to throw it's rider. Definitely told me something wasn't right!

    Oh well, mystery solved, until the next one! Rick

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-21-2017, 04:40 PM
  2. Manifold pressure vs RPM
    By Madcow8820 in forum FS2004
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 10:55 AM
  3. manifold pressure/automotive and ai
    By hprass in forum The Outer Marker
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2003, 07:38 PM
  4. Twin needle rpm and manifold pressure gauges
    By railartist in forum FS2002
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-20-2002, 03:34 PM
  5. C177 Manifold Pressure
    By someone in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-31-2002, 01:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •