Logitech Attack 3 Joystick

marcus1940

Hi to all you flight simmers out there and who I hope can give me a bit of help.

I am brand new to FSX and FS2004 and my knowledge of flying is just about zero.

I can take off and circle but found landing the worst with crashes happening all the time.

Having acquired the above joystick I have managed to land using the joystick throttle for the first time.

What I need is some kind person to help me program the eleven buttons on the joystick.

I need the MOST essential aircraft controls required to fly which I can then program into the joystick.

Please bear in mind I am 78 and keep it reasonably simple

Regards Mike

Basic controls, I would probably want something like this:

1. Brakes

2. Trim Up

3. Trim Down

4. Flaps Up

5. Flaps Down

6. Landing Gear

After that you may want things like change view, zoom in/out. Maybe Kneeboard open, ATC window open/close, GPS open/close, altimeter reset. All things you may use or need to access. You have to figure out what you want at your fingertips on the joystick and what is fine on the keyboard as you progress. Basic controls would be the 6 listed plus some view controls. Anything else is personal preference and what suits how you like to fly.

Others may chime in if I missed something glaring.

Mark Daniels

This one may seem strange , but in addition those mentioned by Mark I have ,

" Pause " assigned to a controller button .

So I can Pause the Sim and at leisure examine instrument displays , or go out to spot , or

Camera views , surprisingly I use it fairly often , apart from being fun it has serious uses .

I create instruments , so with Pause I can freeze the Sim to give me time to examine , and

analyse the instruments , for understanding , check accuracy , and to help calibrate

them .

The Pause might be handy to someone new to Flt Sim , it can give him time to understand ,

and absorb what is happening at various stages if his flight .

Cheers

Karol

• 1 year later...