Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Disabled Scenery Area in Library, Now FS9 Won't Start

  1. #1

    Default Disabled Scenery Area in Library, Now FS9 Won't Start

    I really hate to open a new thread when the answer to this must be in the forum someplace. I'm just not using right search terms.

    I ran Simple Airport Scanner to weed out duplicate airports. At KDTW I have 3 : in Addon Scenery/Scenery /AF2_KDTW;
    Addon Scenery/DTW Scenery /Scenery /AF2_KDTW_future; and Addon Scenery/KDTW V2 /Scenery /AF2_KDTW.

    I went into Scenery Library, found DTW Future and unchecked the box to Disable the area.
    That should have left only KDTW v2 in the Scenery Library.

    Restart FS9 and at the splash screen I get the Microsoft Flight Simulator has Stopped Responding message.
    So I have no way to get to the Scenery Library to adjust things.
    Is there a way to set this right by editing the Scenery Config file?
    Any thoughts or solutions gratefully accepted.
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  2. Default

    Install scenery config editor.
    It marks errors and duplicates in red. And has a "fix" button.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks TG. Never needed and editor before. Did some manual fixes but this problem is a new one.
    Not going to let 26 years of desk top flying go away because of Detroit. I'll let you know what happens.
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  4. #4

    Default

    One duplicate Layer then this -

    Uncaught Exception! This shouldn't happen!
    (SCE Version: 1.1.9)
    Please copy the contents of this box to a support request
    java.lang.RuntimeException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException

    at Main.main(Main.java:50)
    Caused by: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
    at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
    at Main.main(Main.java:38)
    Caused by: java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Argument not valid
    at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.custom.StyledText.setSelectionRange(Unknown Source)
    at sce.swt.tabs.editor.InfoPane.doButton(InfoPane.java:240)
    at sce.swt.tabs.editor.InfoPane.doButton(InfoPane.java:219)
    at sce.swt.tabs.editor.InfoPane$1.widgetSelected(InfoPane.java:85)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.TypedListener.handleEvent(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.EventTable.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Widget.sendEvent(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.runDeferredEvents(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.readAndDispatch(Unknown Source)
    at sce.swt.dialogs.HandleExceptionDialog.open(HandleExceptionDialog.java:86)
    at sce.swt.SceneryConfigEditor.open(SceneryConfigEditor.java:345)
    at sce.swt.SceneryConfigEditor.main(SceneryConfigEditor.java:104)
    ... 5 more
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  5. #5

    Default

    Manually placed // switch in front of both KDTW in Scenery Config file. Still get MSFS Has Stopped on splash screen.
    Removed last KDTW from Addon Scenery made in 2011 leaving only the stock airport. Same result.
    Suggestion from another thread was to REMOVE the Scenery config file, restart and MSFS would generate a new config file.
    That doesn't work either. Message says "Scenery Config is missing."
    Really don't wan to reinstall FS9 and reinstall years of aircraft, flight plans and scenery.
    Any other work around ideas? Am I approaching this wrong?
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  6. Default

    Did you uninstall problem airport or just deactivate it in the scenery library? I'd uninstall it, you might've broken something by removing the duplicates. I'd uninstall the airport files, then run FS and if it still crashes then check the scenery.cfg to make sure there are no other entries left for KDTW.
    Mark Daniels

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    lost between how it is and how it ought to be
    Posts
    6,942

    Default

    I fear this advice might be too late, whenever a change you make causes something to stop working, the first step should be to undo the change you made and see if that fixes it.

    The possibility exists that the problem lies elsewhere, not in Detroit.

    Have you looked in ...\FS9\Scenery\World\scenery for any files related to DTW?

    "Manually placed // switch in front of both KDTW in Scenery Config file"

    That is not the proper way to work with the scenery.cfg, IMO. Simply change the Active= line to...

    Active=false

    BTW, which scenery.cfg are you editing? Where is it located?

    Have you made any other changes to your PC? Things like Windows updates?

    peace,
    the Bean
    WWOD---What Would Opa Do? Farewell, my freind (sp)

    Never argue with idiots.
    They drag you down to their level and beat you with experience

  8. Default

    Removing the scenery.cfg file is a no-no. Somebody confused it with the fs.cfg file. Its worth a shot to remove it and restart FS9 as it will build a new one, but remember all setting will be default.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skywatcher12 View Post
    Did you uninstall problem airport or just deactivate it in the scenery library? I'd uninstall it, you might've broken something by removing the duplicates. I'd uninstall the airport files, then run FS and if it still crashes then check the scenery.cfg to make sure there are no other entries left for KDTW.
    Unless there is an "uninstall" program I don't know about, I simply removed the DTW airport from the Addon Scenery file after deleting it from the Scenery Library when I was able to get FS9 to open up that far. There are no other DTW in the scenery.cfg file. No third party scenery for the area either.
    Last thing I was working on before that was alterations to KPAE a week ago.
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StringBean View Post
    I fear this advice might be too late, whenever a change you make causes something to stop working, the first step should be to undo the change you made and see if that fixes it.

    The possibility exists that the problem lies elsewhere, not in Detroit.

    Have you looked in ...\FS9\Scenery\World\scenery for any files related to DTW?

    "Manually placed // switch in front of both KDTW in Scenery Config file"

    That is not the proper way to work with the scenery.cfg, IMO. Simply change the Active= line to...

    Active=false

    BTW, which scenery.cfg are you editing? Where is it located?

    Have you made any other changes to your PC? Things like Windows updates?

    peace,
    the Bean
    Lets see if I can hit all the questions:
    No updates to windows. No new drivers or updates.
    Nothing in scenery\world\ scenery referencing DTW.
    Once FS9 opened enough to get to Scenery Library, I unchecked the new DTW. last action before all this happened.
    The scenery.cfg file is in Flight Simulator 9 root directory eg: \Flight Simulator 9\scenery.cfg

    I can go back and change = false and delete the switch. Old habit of advice years back . . .
    Many thanks for all who are taking an interest in this puzzle.

    Problem lies elsewhere . . . . is there a good process of elimination for that?
    "For every problem, no matter how complex, there is
    always a solution that is simple, well reasoned, elegant
    and wrong . . ."
    H. L. Mencken

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-05-2016, 03:01 PM
  2. Scenery Library Disabled
    By salsim in forum FSX
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-26-2015, 05:02 PM
  3. Scenery Library Issue! Scenery wont save in library!
    By urcaptainspeaking in forum PC Software Tech
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 07:04 AM
  4. Administrator has disabled FS9: A virus?
    By CrowDrivr in forum FS2004
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2008, 03:56 AM
  5. FSX disabled my FS9 727
    By carlcom1 in forum DreamFleet 727 Support Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 09:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •