Fsx must have files

Prostock

So, I just installed FSX-SE and I'm wondering if there are any Must Have Files that I should dl & install to enhance my experience. I'm a rookie just getting back into the flight sim game so my understanding of some Terminology is sparse. Please make it as simple as possible so I can follow & any links where I can find them. I did check out the Must Have Files Sticky posted here but there was nothing of interest. Thanks in advance.

You are about to get 400 posts from everyone's personal opinions spanning 15 years of add-on development. Do a "must have" search in this forum and you can read the thousands of suggestions already posted on this topic.

-Pv-

2 carrot salad, 10.41 liter bucket, electric doorbell, 17 inch fan, 12X14, 85 Dbm

IMHO you need to have a good weather engine, I use AS16 & ASCA (Active Sky 16 & Active Sky Cloud Art). As to planes you won't need to pay for them as there are so many to fly right here in the file library.

Happy :pilot: Flyin...

AD

I second AS16 (payware) - especially as the FSX real world weather is down, so you will need it for getting up to date weather.

At least the free version of FSUIPC is necessairy for a lot of stuff

For flight planning look at Simbrief (Website recommended for IFR) and Plan-G (program recommended for VFR).

As for planes a lot of really great stuff is out there for free, maybe have a look at the Justflight 757 Freemium, there's a free IFly 747 I think that's also quite nice.

My Personal favourite is Manfred Jahn and Team's C-47/DC-3 - a real gem.

But that depends on your taste there really are many amazing planes out there!

For scenery have a look at FreeMeshX which will enhance the topographic modell and then just search for the regions you want and see what you find.

Cheers and happy flying!