Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Clouds/Prop visual interference

  1. #1

    Default Clouds/Prop visual interference

    This is the FSX default Cessna 182. I noticed that clouds drawn either near or far away, in this instance, blocked the propeller from my sight.
    I took my Carenado Cessna Stationair up and ran this same pattern--no visual problems.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cessna182prop.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	235.0 KB 
ID:	203568

    "Fly Southern, Y'all"

    bushp04

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Posts
    15,851

    Default

    Hi, hate to be a fly in the ointment....but there doesn't seem to be a default C-182 in FSX. Could that be a C-182 Skylane from FS2004? I have noticed that problem when using some FS2004 aircraft in FSX.
    Mr Zippy Sent from my keyboard using "Whackamole", NudgeAKey + 2 Fingers

    Emachines T3418 AMD 3400+ processor 2GHZ/256KB L2 Cashe 2Gig Ram 160Gig HDD NVidia GEForce 6100 GPU Running WinXP Home Can't believe it still works! Running FSX Standard with SP1 and SP2

  3. #3

    Default

    Hey, zip! Thanks for your response! You're right, the Skylane didn't make it from FS2004 to the FSX line-up.
    I now seem to remember reading that some FS2004 aircraft will fly in FSX, although there might be some anomalies.
    I must've loaded the C-182 after reading that--it's been a short time ago, and I think this is the first occasion I've taken it up.

    Well, your kindness is appreciated.
    bushp04

  4. #4

    Default

    If it is indeed a FS2004 A/C then I can tell you props in FSX with FS2004 A/C are funky. I suppose it's all about the MDL model or something.

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks, CRJ_simpilot,
    Yes it appears so.

  6. Default

    Hi. I have models I've experimented with in both FS2004 and FSX. It's a bug in how FSX interprets a model compiled for FS2004. If you take the exact same model and recompile it for FSX the problem disappears. I've had it happen with props made with DXT3 or DXT5 files. Maybe a prop made with a different file type would work better. I've never tried the experiment.

  7. #7

    Default

    How did you recompile the MDL?

    My forum project
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.

Similar Threads

  1. Clouds, clouds and more clouds!!!!!!
    By PHCO in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:43 AM
  2. Clouds, clouds, clouds...
    By davestan_ksan in forum MSFS Screen Shot Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2005, 08:39 AM
  3. clouds, clouds, clouds...
    By sehender in forum FS2004
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-16-2004, 11:17 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-19-2003, 04:09 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2003, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •