Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Unlimited FPS and stutters

  1. Default Unlimited FPS and stutters

    Good morning all

    I am in need of some advice. I have a modest system and have all sliders set at low to medium. When i set FPS to unlimited within fsx, and use Inspector to set IT at 30fps, i get good framerates but the sim stutters. When i lock FPS inside fsx at 31, i get much lower framerates, but almost no stuttering. What i of course would like to have is unlimited FPS without stutters. Do you guys have tips to achieve this? Maybe Inspector of cfg settings?

    Specs:

    Windows 7 64 bit
    8 GB of ram
    I5 3570 3,4 GHz
    Nvidia 750 GTX
    Windows 7 and fsx on two seperate SSD

    Fsx in dx10 setup

    Thanks..

  2. Default

    Hageneez on your system the stutters is your video card choking in other words it cannot handle the texture update load being placed on it.

    See the FSX Bible by NickN (google search) for your system, I highly recommend you download the information and read it carefully, it is correct and will get your system running sweetly.

    Basically, you need to set 30 fps in system, have no DX10 selected. . You will not achieve unlimited frame rates, besides, as long as it is smooth unlimited frame rates is irrelevant. It is a32 bit system runinng on a 64 bit processor.

    I have mine locked at 22 and it runs smooth in all regimes, except when autogen such as big cities or heavy cloud slows it down but it is only temporary and does not bother me at all. The other thing FSX will not run flawlessly all the time and there will always be little glitches.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hageneezz View Post
    I am in need of some advice
    It seems to me you have rediscovered the reason FSX has a frame limiter. In my experience, reinstall FSX and change nothing beyond the Himem=1 fix in your config file. I bet this works better than any of the voodoo.
    MarkH


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    5 NM NE of EDXF
    Posts
    1,723

    Default

    Wrong, Mark.

    FSX is certainly NOT a piece of one-size-fits-all-computers software. You got to tailor the software to your particular hardware.

    Jorgen

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jorgen.s.andersen View Post
    FSX is certainly NOT a piece of one-size-fits-all-computers software. You got to tailor the software to your particular hardware.
    Actually, it is. There is an options menu to tailor it to your hardware.
    MarkH


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Westminster, CO
    Posts
    6,494

    Default

    Your computer is nowhere near powerful enough (if any computer is) to get unlimited frames all the time. Movies run at 24 fps, TV in the U.S. is 30 fps (25 fps many places), and there's not really a need for unlimited -- the eye can't process that much anyway. The adjustments in FS are there for a reason, so that most folks can find a configuration that is usable.

    Turn off your frame rate counter and make various adjustments until you have a fairly smooth picture, perhaps initially limiting frames to 25 fps, or so, then reducing your sliders until you get reasonable operation. I'd suggest staying away from the larger cities if you want smooth. My 8 year old system runs 30 fps most places, but near the larger cities it starts approaching a "slideshow" -- you will have to accept compromises of many sorts.

    You might make note, too, that the more frames the system creates in a given time, the less time it has to work on loading textures, mapping textures to the scenery and other work it needs to do, so limiting FPS gives the sim more time to do other chores -- it's doing a LOT of stuff in there, in addition to displaying your pictures.

    Larry N.

    As Skylab would say:
    Remember: Aviation is NOT an exact Science!

  7. Default

    Don't use outside frame limiters. Use the slider in the sim.

  8. #8

    Default

    You never want to set unlimited frames. You want to give the CPU some breathing room. Also, in your GPU control panel, set the pre-rendered frames to 2 or 3.

    My forum project
    From RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the orange glow of a SAM.
    OOM errors? Read this.
    Pick an Amazon wish list, help a child out
    Why Windows 10 suxx

Similar Threads

  1. Low FPS and stutters
    By shlomiA in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2017, 09:00 PM
  2. Prepar 3D Stutters issues even with over 50 FPS
    By xlarrasnow in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-14-2017, 12:03 PM
  3. Horrible FPS and stutters in bad weather
    By twharrell in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 11:44 AM
  4. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-17-2005, 02:55 PM
  5. Archer / C177 - Unlimited FPS and stutter?
    By JimmiG in forum DreamFleet General Discussion Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-04-2004, 02:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •