Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: SCENERY.CFG/scenery.cfg

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,069

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by svpst View Post
    ….. I recently reistalled FSX-SE and, although it works i do not have a file in users called FSX-SE......
    Hi Brian,

    As Wim has pointed out in post #9 the correct location for the LIVE scenery.cfg for Win 7 and above is as he has stated...…

    Is this install of FSX-SE a standalone install or is it installed alongside a boxed FSX install? - this is important because.....

    If you had a current boxed version install of FSX and then installed SE alongside it you would have the following folder locations:

    Boxed - C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX\ and C:Users\owner\AppData\Roaming\Microsoift\FSX\
    SE - C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX-SE and C:Users\owner\AppData\Roaming\Microsoift\FSX-SE\

    Howevr, if it is a standalone install of SE then you will only have:

    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX\ and C:Users\owner\AppData\Roaming\Microsoift\FSX\

    Hence the reason for no FSX-SE entry.
    Regards

    Brian

  2. #12

    Default

    I removed the boxed FSX several years ago. My system worked fine. I have the strings that you show for SE. So I should not have C:Users\owner\AppData\Roaming\Microsoift\FSX-SE\. I don't have it. I have scenery.cfg files in both the Users string and the Program Data, BUTT UTX says its looking for SCENERY.CFG. I talked to UTX and they say SCENERY.CFG and scenery.cfg are the same. I've completely reinstalled UTX twice and still get the same message. But the way will full disclosure, UTX told me it MUST be installed only in the drive FSX-SE is in. So, I've installed it back in the c:drive and guess what. Same message. Something really is askew because my Scenery Config Editor is also screwed up. Fortunately I'm a patient guy, just not technically sauvy but frankly maybe I have conflicting software on my machine. who knows, but I appreciate your help. If I'm taking up too much time with that just tell me.
    Brian W.

    Quad Core Asus board, 3.3 gz EVGA GTX 550.ti, 8 gigs ram, 500g Samsung SSD, 1.5 T HDD, 1 T HDD, Win 10, 64bit.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,069

    Default

    Hi Brian,

    First, some clarification please...……

    I don't have UTX (but do have GEX) but my understanding of the UTX product is that it (a bit like GEX) has an installer part (installs the individual scenery files etc) and a config manager part which you then run after the main install of files to configure/activate the scenery into FSX - which of these elements are causing the error - i.e. are you able to install the files but then get the error when running the manager or is it failing to install some/all of the files.

    If the product is failing to install it could be related to registry key settings left over from the previous install - especially if, as stated in your original post, you 'moved' (i.e. simply copied) the original files from the C: to F: drive, rather than deleting and then reinstalling.

    If the error occurs after successfully installing the files when you attempt to run the manager it could be due to missing files that failed to install or because the manger is looking at the wrong location (hence the error message about the scenery.cfg location). This could be due to problems with the actual scenery location paths within the 'live' scenery.cfg file.

    In the case of the first instance I suggest that you follow the re-install process I have stated below. For the second instance try pointing the manger to the correct location and/or check, using SCE, that the scenery.cfg entries for the UTX stuff is correct. Two ways to do this - manually check the entries (as detailed below) or simply delete the areas from the list, save and close SCE before running the manger again

    Re-install process

    1. Download and install a registry cleaning tool. One such freeware tool is CCleaner but there are others available. They come in both freeware and payware but a freeware version is all that you need.

    2. Uninstall any UTX stuff still installed, preferably using any dedicated uninstaller that it may have or, if necessary, using the standard Windows uninstaller.

    3. Once you have used the uninstaller, manually check that all relevant UTX folders/files have also been deleted. If any residue folders/files remain manually delete them.

    4. Reboot the PC. This will allow changes to be written/saved to the Registry.

    5. Run the registry cleaning tool - this will check your registry for invalid/defunct/corrupt registry keys and will remove/repair them as appropriate.

    6. Reboot the PC. This will allow changes to be written/saved to the Registry.

    7. Reinstall UTX

    SCE Errors

    What sort of error(s) are showing in Scenery config Editor? Does it make reference to missing or duplicate areas etc? Are any UTX areas listed and, if so, do they show errors?

    Some info that might help you to investigate and resolve some or all of your SCE issues...….

    If you click on an item that has a warning triangle next to and, if necessary, scroll across to the right, it will give a basic indication of the problem.

    Likewise, if you highlight an entry that has an issue and then click on the Text Editor tab, located at top left under the standard menu entries, it will open up at the selected area entry in the scenery.cfg file - the entries for the area may also offer up clues as to the issue(s).

    A key entry to check within each scenery entry is the Local= string, as this 'tells' FSX where to find the scenery. If this string is missing, corrupt, misspelled or simply points to the wrong location it will cause an error.

    Note, a important thing to know/remember - there is a key difference in the way the scenery is referenced in the scenery.cfg file depending on where you store scenery. Scenery folder locations located within the main FSX/FSX-SE folder or subfolders use 'abbreviated' strings whilst those located outside of FSX use 'full' strings. For example:

    Abbreviated string, root directory of FSX - Local=<foldername>
    Abbreviated string, within a FSX folder (e.g. addon scenery - Local=addon scenery\<foldername>

    Full string, root directory of C:\ drive - Local=C:\<foldername>
    Full string, within a root folder (e.g. My addon scenery) - Local=C:\my addon scenery\<foldername>

    Another common issue is that, sometimes, the Local= entry changes to Remote= - this is an indication that the installation path of the scenery is unresolved or is thought to be residing on a removal source. If the rest of the string looks fine simply changing Remote to read Local will often resolve the issue.

    I appreciate that some (or all) of this may be difficult to understand - I have tried to keep it simple but if you have any Q's or want more clarification on what is said reply to the thread, or if you feel the need to PM me.

    With specific regard to some of your SCE errors - you can giving details of the error(s) and even copy and paste a few of the Area.XXX entry into the thread, so that I, or others, can give more specific views regarding the error
    Regards

    Brian

  4. #14

    Default

    A guy named Jeff reached me from UTX and I just sent him some registry info so I'll see what he comes up with first, but I'm keeping your message. As far as CSE is concerned, whe I add a scenery in list it looks look. I then put it in my group and it looks good but when I save, exit and come back all "Group" data is gone. So it seems to be an issue with the save functions. It also tells me it needs information from sceneries which are part of the original scenery and for which there are already entries.

    I'd gotten so used to things working well for years, I'd forgotten how I got to this point, now I feel like a damn baby starting over again. Been simming since '98 But not all that computer savy which gets me in trouble.
    Brian W.

    Quad Core Asus board, 3.3 gz EVGA GTX 550.ti, 8 gigs ram, 500g Samsung SSD, 1.5 T HDD, 1 T HDD, Win 10, 64bit.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,069

    Default

    Hi Brian,

    RE the 'Group' data - which data list is gone - the column that appears in the List view or the entries when viewed under the Groups tab...………...or are you referring to what happens when you are adding scenery to specific groups after initially adding the scenery.

    In SCE there are three ways to do this. Try using one of the methods that you haven't used to see if that makes any difference -

    Method 1 - At the time you add the scenery: When you click on the Add Area button it opens the Add/Edit Area window. You can add the scenery to a specific group using the Groups field - simply click on the down arrow located at the right hand side of the Name field and select the required entry or, if required, enter a new group name and then click on the + icon to add the new entry to the list. Save the change.

    Method 2 - Editing the entry after adding: In List view highlight the required area and then click on the Edit Area button - the same Add/Edit Area window mentioned in method 1 will open. Add the Group as per method 1. Save the change.

    Method 3 - Via the Groups list (this is the method that I think you are currently using): Go to Group View. This will show a list of all of your 'Group' entries plus an entry labelled 'Ungrouped'. Expand the 'Ungrouped' entry and select the area entry to be edited. You now have two options - either click on the Add to Group button or click on the Edit Area/Group button.

    The Add to Group option will open a window that allows you to select the required group from the dropdown list but it will not allow you to add a new group name. Click OK to accept the change and the program should open the expanded group highlighting the new scenery. Save the change.

    The Edit Area/Group option will open the same Add/Edit Area window mentioned in Methods 1 and 2 above and the process to add the group is the same.

    RE needing information from sceneries which are part of the original scenery and for which there are already entries - by 'original' do you mean FSX default scenery. If so, do a simple quick check, using the info I gave in post #13 regarding the Local= entry, make sure they are not corrupted. Another quick check would be to check the [Area.xxx] entries for the default areas - as you have -SE they should run consecutively from [Area.001] to [Area.120]. The 'bracket' characters are important - a missing bracket can cause issues when the file is 'read' by FSX to load the scenery. Likewise, I have also see errors caused by the first 99 entries being truncated (i.e. missing the leading zeros - e.g listed as [Area.1] to [Area.99]
    Regards

    Brian

  6. Default

    scenery.cfg is in location:

    Box only - C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX\

    SE Only - (and never had box, or, have cleanly removed Box and removed all residual files):
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX\

    First box installed, then SE,
    or... Box installed, not completely correctly removed, then installed SE
    In those cases scenery.cfg for old/current Box is in:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX\
    and steam scenery.cfg will be in
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX-SE


    -------
    It will not be in C:\\.....\Appdata

    ----
    (I'm trying to remember if it was in Appdata in XP. Don't think so, but not sure.)

  7. Default

    Here's a guide that shows all the file locations for these situations.
    http://www.fsrijnmond.nl/PDF%20besta...%20install.pdf

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2016, 10:11 AM
  2. terraine.cfg/scenery.cfg missing.
    By hays in forum FS2004
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-22-2004, 02:29 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-2004, 03:56 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2004, 08:37 PM
  5. Panel.cfg and Sound.cfg
    By davidbaty in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2002, 01:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •