Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Return to the fold.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    12

    Default Return to the fold.

    Hi.

    After a long break from simming I've decided to test the water again to see if I can be more successful at it than I was previously. To be honest, I couldn't be less successful!

    My past simming history is one of defeat and dismal failure. Firstly, with FS5 my computer wasn't up to the job, then I changed the computer and upgraded to FS98 my hardware let me down. All in all I've never successfully completed a flight...

    So here we are again. I've dusted off the old PC after using a Mac for several years and I'm ready to start again.

    I intend using my old computer with new Saitek hardware in an attempt to control the cost. The specs are AMD Athlon 7550 Dual Core 2.5 GHz and 4Gb RAM (Although only 3.25Gb appears on the system info.) Nvidia GE Force 9600 GSO 512 graphics card.

    I'll also be reacquainting myself with FS98 before I decide whether to go with another package. In the meantime I have a few questions:-

    Will FS98 support the Saitek gear through USB?

    Will FS98 support multiple monitors in readiness for a software upgrade?

    The minimum requirement for FSX is a 2GHz or higher single core processor. Mine is a 2.5GHz dual core. Will this be suitable or does FSX need the full 2GHz through a single core? Would this mean a 4GHz dual core minimum spec processor?

    Lastly, is FS98 backwards compatible for scenery as I have a scenery pack of my local area from FS5? Ok, I know it won't look fantastic but I really don't want to spend the money until I know everything works!Thanks very much in advance to anyone who's still reading and can offer some help.

    Regards,

    Paul.

  2. #2

    Default

    Did anyone ever reply to you? I have exactyly the same questions!

  3. #3

    Default

    I'm a total PC dummy and only know how to waggle my joystick to make my little planes go WHEEH! so it's no use asking me (sniffle).
    All I know is that I solved all my simming problems years ago when I bought FSX and a super-duper PC to play it..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LTCSZ View Post
    Did anyone ever reply to you? I have exactyly the same questions!
    No mate, No response as yet.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ScatterbrainKid View Post
    I'm a total PC dummy and only know how to waggle my joystick to make my little planes go WHEEH! so it's no use asking me (sniffle).
    All I know is that I solved all my simming problems years ago when I bought FSX and a super-duper PC to play it..
    Thanks for that. Unfortunately that avenue's not open to me for the moment.

  6. Default

    Likely no replies because hardly anyone uses FS98. Unless you are running a really old operating system FS98 may give multiple issues.
    Looking at your specs, forget FSX, you really need a high end machine especially if you start throwing some reasonable addons in there. I'd recommend FS9 as up to this moment it is still a fully functioning flight sim. Masses of addons, real weather can still be added for free although through and external program which slaughters the inbuilt system anyhow, AI traffic is available, basically anything and everything. Tonnes of freeware and payware out there and FS9 will pretty much run on any operating system. You can get it off eBay quite cheap these days.
    If you really want to continue looking at FS98 or anything pre FS9 there are various forums you can explore for info on this site. I'd personally be running straight for FS9 in your situation. Best of luck!

    Edit: Regarding Saitek, no idea with FS98 but FS9 should work perfectly as long as what you have supports the operating system you are using.
    Last edited by Skywatcher12; 06-13-2018 at 03:17 AM.
    Mark Daniels

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skywatcher12 View Post
    Looking at your specs, forget FSX, you really need a high end machine especially if you start throwing some reasonable addons in there. I'd recommend FS9 as up to this moment it is still a fully functioning flight sim. Masses of addons, real weather can still be added for free although through and external program which slaughters the inbuilt system anyhow, AI traffic is available, basically anything and everything. Tonnes of freeware and payware out there and FS9 will pretty much run on any operating system. You can get it off eBay quite cheap these days.
    If you really want to continue looking at FS98 or anything pre FS9 there are various forums you can explore for info on this site. I'd personally be running straight for FS9 in your situation. Best of luck!
    +1 Go for the FS9 (FS2004 Century of Flight, product is called either name). Still some good buys on Ebay, ask for very good to excellent condition, make sure you get a product key, and most importantly make sure all 4 disks are in your purchase!

    Good luck - Rick

  8. #8

    Default

    Here's an example. Flight Sim 2004 (FS9), 4 disks with tin, very good condition, sellers says discs are free of scratches. Only question to ask seller, do you have the product key with the sale?

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Microsoft-F...gAAOSwydpa8fXv

    $17.99 w/ free shipping!
    And there are more on Ebay, similiar listings! - Rick

    Free shipping won't help if you're in Wales, UK. But you get the jest of what I am saying. You have options, I am sure!
    Last edited by Downwind66; 06-13-2018 at 01:46 PM.

  9. Default

    FS9 doesn't use a product key as far as I know.
    Mark Daniels

  10. #10

    Default

    Mark - Now that you mention it, I believe you are correct! I just went into the box my FS2004 came in and found a scratch sheet of paper that had Microsoft numbers on it and the last number I had listed was 69768-442-4870153-23163. I was thinking those were products codes, but I have 3 other long numbers. I think those must be confirmation numbers you are given when you download or update, in the event you had to call Microsoft for support! A lot those numbers will do you today! I think I had the original download with the one update and 2 other downloads (one for a new computer years ago and another when I thought it would be nice to have both FS2004 and FSX loaded at the same time)!

    Anyway, good to know, thanks for catching that! - Rick

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. BGL problems? Two fold issue
    By shearder in forum Scenery Design
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 06:38 AM
  2. Grumman Tracker - Wing Fold
    By bmw1984 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2006, 09:53 PM
  3. F-4U Corsair Wing Fold and Tail Hook
    By TerryinABQ in forum FS2002
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-19-2002, 01:49 AM
  4. two-fold problem with new 2002
    By HottestRod in forum FS2002
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2002, 05:01 AM
  5. Fold Wings on Fs2002 Corsair
    By lllllll180 in forum FS2002
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-11-2002, 12:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •