Flight planner, Navigation and ATC

Hello,

I'm fairly new to FSX. I've been doing the missions and I'm pretty familiar with the Airbus A321. But in free flight I'm having some issues when approaching my destination.

Yesterday I was flying a VFR flight from Heathrow to Schiphol (pretty annoying that the included fsx heathrow does not have terminal 5 and new taxiways but anyway) All was well. I departed Heathrow and followed my route to Schiphol.

In flight planner I just selected a random gate at heathrow, Schiphol as destination and generated a high altitude route to Schiphol.

I followed all the way points and it brought me right on top of Schiphol, 25500 feet on top of it to be exact...

There was no top of descent waypoint and no instructions from ATC on course speed and altitude like you get in the missions.

I requested the landing and all I got from ATC was: Runway 6 left. cleared to land.....

So I then had to somehow get my plane down turn around find my own approach into runway 6 because when I asked ATC for directions all they were giving was: airport is x miles at x o'clock...

The whole thing ended in me crashing into Rotterdam.

Does anyone know where to find a proper tutorial on planning flights and how to get proper directions from ATC. I'd really like them to give me an altitude, heading and speed so I can just autopilot myself on top of the runway and only do the touchdown manually.

Does it make a difference to use IFR routes?

Thanks

Kevin

Yes, in the IFR case you will get "vectored" (ie ATC assigns you altitudes and headings to fly) onto and off of your planned route, which includes lining you up with a runway for a visual approach or assigned an instrument approach (an ILS approach if that's available).

With VFR you are pretty much on your own except for takeoff and landing clearance (or class B transition). The advantage of VFR is that ATC does not pester you and you can just follow your flight plan.